Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Choceur Chocolate Gluten Free, Not Gluten Free, Huh?
0

5 posts in this topic

Riddle me this, Batman:

Choceur Strawberry Yogurt Milk Chocolate Bars have a "gluten free" symbol (the one with the wheat) on the back, but ALSO list WHEAT as an ingredient.

Can someone explain that one to me?

These bars are made for Aldi's (where I shop) in Germany. They have a variety of bars that are labeled "gluten free" but don't list wheat as an ingredient like this specific bar.

Thanks.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Different rules in different places. Without actually seeing the label, I am speculating, but the product could be considered gluten-free under European rules while containing Codex wheat starch. Under Canadian rules, such a product can not be labeled gluten-free. In the United States, there is still no rule defining "gluten-free."

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Different rules in different places. Without actually seeing the label, I am speculating, but the product could be considered gluten-free under European rules while containing Codex wheat starch. Under Canadian rules, such a product can not be labeled gluten-free. In the United States, there is still no rule defining "gluten-free."

Would you consider it "safe" to eat their other bars, also labeled "gluten free" as this one is, but that do not list wheat as an ingredient? This particular bar is the only one of their selection I see with this peculiarity. They do have other chocolate bars that are NOT labeled gluten free, so I thought I they were safe for us Celiacs.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, I would. Since you are buying the product in the US, any wheat content must, by law, be clearly disclosed.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, I would. Since you are buying the product in the US, any wheat content must, by law, be clearly disclosed.

Ok then, thanks!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.