Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Choceur Chocolate Gluten Free, Not Gluten Free, Huh?


  • Please log in to reply

4 replies to this topic

#1 lucky97

 
lucky97

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 67 posts
 

Posted 26 May 2012 - 09:14 AM

Riddle me this, Batman:

Choceur Strawberry Yogurt Milk Chocolate Bars have a "gluten free" symbol (the one with the wheat) on the back, but ALSO list WHEAT as an ingredient.

Can someone explain that one to me?


These bars are made for Aldi's (where I shop) in Germany. They have a variety of bars that are labeled "gluten free" but don't list wheat as an ingredient like this specific bar.



Thanks.
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 psawyer

 
psawyer

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,048 posts
 

Posted 26 May 2012 - 09:29 AM

Different rules in different places. Without actually seeing the label, I am speculating, but the product could be considered gluten-free under European rules while containing Codex wheat starch. Under Canadian rules, such a product can not be labeled gluten-free. In the United States, there is still no rule defining "gluten-free."
  • 0
Peter
Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000.
Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986
Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

#3 lucky97

 
lucky97

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 67 posts
 

Posted 26 May 2012 - 10:18 AM

Different rules in different places. Without actually seeing the label, I am speculating, but the product could be considered gluten-free under European rules while containing Codex wheat starch. Under Canadian rules, such a product can not be labeled gluten-free. In the United States, there is still no rule defining "gluten-free."



Would you consider it "safe" to eat their other bars, also labeled "gluten free" as this one is, but that do not list wheat as an ingredient? This particular bar is the only one of their selection I see with this peculiarity. They do have other chocolate bars that are NOT labeled gluten free, so I thought I they were safe for us Celiacs.
  • 0

#4 psawyer

 
psawyer

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,048 posts
 

Posted 26 May 2012 - 10:22 AM

Yes, I would. Since you are buying the product in the US, any wheat content must, by law, be clearly disclosed.
  • 0
Peter
Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000.
Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986
Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

#5 lucky97

 
lucky97

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 67 posts
 

Posted 26 May 2012 - 03:12 PM

Yes, I would. Since you are buying the product in the US, any wheat content must, by law, be clearly disclosed.



Ok then, thanks!
  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: