Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Doritos Lovers
0

6 posts in this topic

Frito Lay has made several products gluten free for awhile now but we purchased a bag of the Nacho Cheese flavored Doritos the other day and noticed that wheat was no longer listed as an ingredient as it had been previously. So, I emailed them to ask if they were removing gluten from that flavor and this was their reply:

"Thank you for writing to us. The wheat flour has been removed from Doritos Nacho Cheese and they no longer contain any gluten ingredients. This change took place earlier this year.

We consider you a valued consumer and hope you will continue to enjoy snacks from Frito-Lay.

Best regards,

Belinda

Frito-Lay Consumer Relations

011993626A"

Please note that it still does not say "Gluten Free" on the bag so eat at your own risk. However, as it has already been mentioned in another thread, Frito Lays has started an initiative to validate and label their products as gluten free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

oh wow! Awesome of you to check twice. I never looked after I saw it the first time! We have only been buying the blue ones! I read their announcement and some will be labeled gluten free. Others (like Doritos) are listed as "not containing gluten". The difference is that the Doritos and tons of others are made on the same lines as others containing wheat. It said that they wash their lines completely but still do not feel comfortable calling it gluten free...only "not containing gluten". I have been letting my daughter eat their stuff if gluten wasn't in the ingredients. I hope they really do wash those machines!

Here's the link if you want to read which ones are truly gluten free.

http://www.fritolay.com/your-health/us-products-not-containing-gluten-ingredients.html

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thats awesome. I was eating a ton of those just months ago when the doc told me I can eat as much gluten as I wanted before I got scoped. I wonder if they changed in Canada also. Thanks for the info. I wonder if those Nacho Cheese taco shells from Taco Bell are now gluten free then.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thats awesome. I was eating a ton of those just months ago when the doc told me I can eat as much gluten as I wanted before I got scoped. I wonder if they changed in Canada also. Thanks for the info. I wonder if those Nacho Cheese taco shells from Taco Bell are now gluten free then.

Not much is safe at Taco Bell. Don't know if this list is valid where you are but here is a link

http://www.tacobell.com/nutrition/allergens

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thats awesome. I was eating a ton of those just months ago when the doc told me I can eat as much gluten as I wanted before I got scoped. I wonder if they changed in Canada also. Thanks for the info. I wonder if those Nacho Cheese taco shells from Taco Bell are now gluten free then.

I am from Canada and I was only diagnosed about a month and a half ago. When I first started looking I had trouble finding a single chip I could eat. I was checking mainly lays brands. Lays, Ruffles and Doritos. When I started checking a week or two later I found the same products without wheat listed. CC is still possible but I have been successfully eating Zesty Doritos, All Dressed Ruffles and Lays Ketchup with no problems. All 3 had wheat listed when I first checked. the Doritos now just doesn't say any wheat ingretients. Ketchup are listed Gluten free (or wheat free I forget which) and the All Dressed now say rice flour instead of wheat flour.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




I am from Canada and I was only diagnosed about a month and a half ago. When I first started looking I had trouble finding a single chip I could eat. I was checking mainly lays brands. Lays, Ruffles and Doritos. When I started checking a week or two later I found the same products without wheat listed. CC is still possible but I have been successfully eating Zesty Doritos, All Dressed Ruffles and Lays Ketchup with no problems. All 3 had wheat listed when I first checked. the Doritos now just doesn't say any wheat ingretients. Ketchup are listed Gluten free (or wheat free I forget which) and the All Dressed now say rice flour instead of wheat flour.

I got a huge list of gluten free chips I will send you in a private message. If anyone else is interested I will post the whole list here.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.