Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Tazo Bottled Drinks And Gluten..?
0

4 posts in this topic

So I recently bought a bunch of the Tazo bottled tea drinks (all flavors) because they were on sale at Whole Foods. Anyways, after getting home I realized that I didn't even check the labels to see if there were any gluten containing ingredients; I just figured tea drinks would be gluten free. After checking the labels it doesn't list any gluten containing ingredient's, however, none of the flavors say "gluten free". Sometimes gluten can be hidden in "natural flavors" or via cross contamination.

I went online to Tazo's website which was absolutely no help, it doesn't even list the bottled drinks at all. After doing more research online and even calling the company I am still left without a definite answer. The lady said they don't add gluten, however, they can't guarantee it's gluten free (LAME!).

If anyone has any experience with Tazo as a brand, or more specifically the bottled drinks, please let me know if you have any knowledge to whether the drinks are gluten free or not. Also what kind of facility they are processed in, and if there is a possibility of cross contamination?

Any help would be much appreciated. Just fyi the flavors I purchased are Organic Iced Black, Tazoberry, Giant Peach, Brambleberry, and Tea Lemonade.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

The lady said they don't add gluten, however, they can't guarantee it's gluten free (LAME!).

Not lame, but honest. It means they don't actually test the ingredients or the finished product, so they are not in a position to guarantee gluten-free status. Standard legal disclaimer, found for most mainstream products.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Not lame, but honest. It means they don't actually test the ingredients or the finished product, so they are not in a position to guarantee gluten-free status. Standard legal disclaimer, found for most mainstream products.

In regards to my "LAME" comment; it was more in regards to the situation as a whole. I understand the legal nature of this subject, and why she gave me the answer she gave me. However, I feel the employee could have explained more thoroughly the way in which their products are made, and the facilities they are processed in. I didn't mention this in my first comment but the person on the phone was short, and sounded like she could care less. When I call a company for information I expect to talk to a knowledgeable employee that actually knows about the products they produce; or at least cares to help their paying customers. Aside from that, the products I bought aren't even listed on their website. It's not like I bought some off brand at the dollar store; these are commonly sold/expensive drinks. The Tazo employee did say that their drinks are made in a facility that IS NOT ALLERGEN FREE. BUT NO WHERE ON THE DRINKS DOES IT MENTION ANY ALLERGEN INFORMATION. So maybe now you can understand why I might be a little upset with the situation.

So all in all, the product probably doesn't contain gluten. But am I going to continue to buy a product in which the company makes no attempt to please their customers with food allergies? Never again. I can tell you this, there are millions of people in the United States with food allergies; if companies continue to be oblivious to that, they will eventually loose millions of dollars from people like me not buying their product.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In regards to my "LAME" comment; it was more in regards to the situation as a whole. I understand the legal nature of this subject, and why she gave me the answer she gave me. However, I feel the employee could have explained more thoroughly the way in which their products are made, and the facilities they are processed in. I didn't mention this in my first comment but the person on the phone was short, and sounded like she could care less. When I call a company for information I expect to talk to a knowledgeable employee that actually knows about the products they produce; or at least cares to help their paying customers. Aside from that, the products I bought aren't even listed on their website. It's not like I bought some off brand at the dollar store; these are commonly sold/expensive drinks. The Tazo employee did say that their drinks are made in a facility that IS NOT ALLERGEN FREE. BUT NO WHERE ON THE DRINKS DOES IT MENTION ANY ALLERGEN INFORMATION. So maybe now you can understand why I might be a little upset with the situation.

So all in all, the product probably doesn't contain gluten. But am I going to continue to buy a product in which the company makes no attempt to please their customers with food allergies? Never again. I can tell you this, there are millions of people in the United States with food allergies; if companies continue to be oblivious to that, they will eventually loose millions of dollars from people like me not buying their product.

The reason companies do not go overboard with allergy information or try to guarantee gluten free status is because American

liability laws heavily favor the consumer. If a company knows they may get sued by some people who make a huge deal out of things, then they are not as inclined to cater to the allergy crowd. You have to remember, you take full responsibility when you eat or drink anything out because nothing in life can be absolutely guaranteed. You see much more allergy information in Europe and are catered to well in many places because they just can't sue someone if they get sick....and I agree with that.

I always take full responsibility for my food actions and if I am unsure of an ingredient, I don't eat or drink it....I find something else. It's not a big deal. The Tazo employee informed you that their product is not produced in an allergy free facility and that's all I ever need to know to make a decision. If wheat were in the drink, it would have to be declared, by law.

As for barley, that might be an ingredient but once you do this for awhile, it is a lot easier to figure out the ingredients that might contain barley.

I really don't think that refusing to buy a product is going to matter at all or affect the company's bottom line because there are many more people without allergies or who are in plain denial about anything they may have and continue to eat or drink whatever they want. That's why there is so much crappy food sold everywhere. They are not going away because of food allergies.

BTW....the bottled Tazo drinks I stay away from. You can buy the lemonade and tea mixture at the store, where they will make it up fresh. I asked to see the bottles and read the ingredients and the black and green teas (plain) are gluten free, along with their lemonade used in the drink. Their Chai tea mix is also gluten free and the soy milk used, in case you are dairy free.

I have found it much easier to go into Starbucks and read the ingredients lists myself and have never been glutened there. Those are the only 2 drinks I ever order there so I've had good luck.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,357
    • Total Posts
      920,528
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Well, I have never cruised on Carnival, but I am sure they can accommodate you.  I assume that you have already alerted them that you require gluten free meals.  If not, please contact Carnival immediately. Here are my own tips.  Some folks eat off the buffet line, but not me or hubby except for coffee/drinks and baked potatoes (jacketed) and fruit that we wash in the restroom (people touch everything!)  Okay, I am OCD, but my last glutening which occurred the previous summer made me sick for three months (GI tested my antibodies to prove it).   When we board, I go to the buffet restaurant ASAP and ask to speak to the Head Waiter (they are usually there greeting customers and often trying to up sell to specialty restaurants.   Let them know you have celiac disease and must be gluten free.  They may try to tell you that each dish is clearly marked gluten free, but really?  Who's to say that some other passenger is not going to switch spoons (or I have seen passengers wandering around with serving spoons...I kid you not!  The staff usually will  go downstairs and fetch a gluten free meal for me from the main dining room's kitchen as there is usually a dedicated area for allergies.  We have to wait up to 20 minutes or so but it is worth it.  Starving?  Get a baked potato wrapped in foil until your gluten-free meal arrives.  Now, do not do this every single time.  Those folks have to go down several levels to fetch food and you don't want to be a pain.  But if the main dining area is closed, they need to make an effort to keep you safe.  On our last cruise, we were advised not to eat anywhere but the main dining room and that included room service (they are not trained to handled allergies).  My headwaiters have sent goodies (prepackaged gluten free rolls and cookies for us to keep in our room.  We can always grab whole fruit (I wash it first) to snack on.  I bring gluten-free non-perishable items with me to eat while at port in case we can't find anything (which can be often).  Again, when we get back to our ship, we contact our headwaiter and he/she can prepare some snacks until we have dinner.   Be grateful and not picky.   We eat all meals in the dining room (or at least as much as possible).  Our headwaiter had a few other celiacs on our cruise this summer, so they prepared some gluten-free waffles, etc. for our breakfast!  What a treat!  At breakfast, we'd have different waiters, so our headwaiter would always instruct our waiters each and every time!  They even let me tour the kitchen and showed me the allergy section.   The only time I did not feel safe was at the buffet.  We once ordered gluten-free pizza and I realized (I watched) that that restaurant didn't really have the gluten-free thing down), do I called him on it.  Got the manager etc.  So, be careful.  Other cruises made us frozen Udi"s which was just fine with us.  They covered it up in foil so that we would not get any cross contamination from their pizza oven. So, have fun!   Tipping?  We prepaid our gratuities, but we gave our headwaiter an extra $200.00 for his time.  For us, it was well worth the service and safety of our food.  It does not hurt to slip some of the tip ahead of time (like after your first meal!)  
    • <strong>Celiac Disease & Gluten-free Diet Information at Celiac.com. Gluten Free Diabetes ::The 3 Step Trick that Reverses Diabetes Permanently in ... View the full article
    • I had a biopsy done (2 samples, 1 on a lesion and 1 next to lesions), and also more bloodwork done. All came back negative. However, I only had been eating gluten for 2 weeks prior, and it took a week of gluten for lesions to reappear. I also used a topical steroid off and on (1x a week approximately) for a month or so before testing. The dermatologist told me to stay off gluten though, and said she wants to do more allergy testing (her next open testing appt is in 6 months!!). I know I'm not the DR, but I dont think it's allergies...without a doubt, my skin begins clearing about 2 weeks post gluten-free diet...this is without changing anything else in my lifestyle. And when i had to go back on gluten before my biopsy, it took about a week, but did reappear. Now, about 2 weeks post biopsy and gluten-free, it had begun clearing until i worked outside all day in heat, humidity,  sweat etc and it has definitely irritated all the places that were healing (not new breakouts, just aggravating what was going away!). All that being said, i have a friend who is an MD( who's hobby is to attend conferences on skin conditions!), and she has told me that without a doubt, I have celiac/DH.  I think I just feel like I need test results and paperwork to show for it...especially to show family members who are unsupportive (gross understatement!) of the extreme changes I've had to make!
    • Sorry ! I have never cruised before.  Just wanting to follow your topic.  Good luck! Have a great,  safe vacation.  
    • Hi there, I hope you're all having a good day! I'll be heading on a week-long Carnival cruise shortly and had a few questions: -What is the tipping protocol? I've prepaid gratuities, but feel like the food request will warrant something extra. Should I tip the headwaiter? Hostess? Regular waiter? Chef? Those cooking at, say, the sandwich or pasta bars? If so, how much is appropriate, and should I tip at the beginning of the cruise, the end, or split it up? -It looks like the main dining room will be closed during lunch hours on most days. Any recommendations on safe bets for midday meals? I'll be on the Carnival Sunshine, for what that's worth. Thank you so much for any information you can share!  
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,432
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    rbeckler60
    Joined