This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Celiac Day 1

amcam17

amcam17 Rookie

Hello Everyone,

I'm new to all of this so I have no idea what to do. Yesterday I had an endo procedure done to confirm Celiac. Well,it turned out that I have Celiac. I have no idea where to go from here. All I know is I'm beyond fed up with feeling crummy all of the time. I have nothing really to go off of on what I can and can't eat all I know is my diet has to change today. Someone please help guide me, I'm scared and all I know is it is a huge life change.....

~Amie

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Ninja Contributor

Hi Amie – Welcome to the board!

Here's an awesome thread that may help you: "Newbie Info 101"

Ask as many questions as you need/want to, we're all here to help! It will get easier, especially once you start to feel better. :)

GFinDC Veteran

Welcome Amy,

It can be kind of scary at first. After while you will find there are lots of foods to eat though. Staying away from dairy and soy may help you adjust. Cooking your food at home from whole ingredients is also very helpful. Limiting sugar and starch can help too. Many people end up with a lot of bloating at first due to the bacterial changes in the gut. Different food for you equals different food for them too. So limiting sugars and starches can help by discouraging overgrowth of gas making bacteria. Taking probotics and digestive enzymes may help too.