Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Feeling Glutened After Ice Cream Cone
0

6 posts in this topic

I keep a very detailed food log.. the only new thing I've introduced is Goldbaum's ice cream cones. After the first one I ate, I woke up at night from my stomach gurgling and couldn't go into work the next day I felt so ill.

Well here I am at 2 in the morning with horrible gas and stomach pain, after another cone. Say it ain't so.

I can't find a single bad review on these cones. Am I off the mark and it's the ice cream? (Perry's Chocolate Peanut Butter Cup, labeled gluten-free).

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Goldbaum's is a dedicated facility, from what I have read, and I have indulged myself with one of their cones recently with coconut ice cream and felt no ill effects. And I am a "quick responder".

I have no idea if you can tolerate dairy, chocolate or peanuts, but a mix of ice cream flavors makes it really difficult to pinpoint what is making you feel ill.

Is there a big black G F in the circle on the Perry's, or just the words "gluten free" on the package? Are the various ice cream flavors run on shared lines?

Next time, try a plain flavor and no cone and see what happens.

More importantly, if you are newly diagnosed, anything could be giving you grief still. It takes a long time to heal.

Stick to a whole foods diet and no dairy for a few weeks and see if you feel better. Dairy gives those same symptoms you describe in a gut that is still healing. It cannot tolerate the lactose just yet maybe.

Just some thoughts!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just looked those up and they look delicious.

Even among super sensitives, sensitivity levels vary, so just because someone else can eat it doesn't mean that you can, unfortunately. I think that it can be difficult for dedicated facilities to get super pure starting food materials due to farming practices which can include crop rotation and shared equipment and facilities. I buy grains, seeds, and beans whole and sort and wash them before eating. I have found what looked like gluten grains in many places where they should not be.

Although you did post in the super sensitive section, I will add that I am sensitive to very low levels of gluten.

I hope you feel better soon.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I called Perry's ice cream and they assured me they sanitize the facilities every 24 hours and the gluten-free flavors wouldn't be contaminated by non-gluten-free ones.

I've been gluten-free for 11 months. Prior to healing I couldn't tolerate dairy, but for months I've been eating it without any issues. Peanut butter is fine. I'm not positive about chocolate and will keep an eye on it.

Dilettantesteph-- the cones are absolutely delicious. I've been looking for cones since my diagnosis and was thrilled when I found 12 for $3.50 at the grocery store. I am really hoping they aren't the culprit.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I called Perry's ice cream and they assured me they sanitize the facilities every 24 hours and the gluten-free flavors wouldn't be contaminated by non-gluten-free ones.

I'll be totally honest, a teeny, selfish part of me is hoping it's your ice cream. :unsure: I just bought a package of these cones today for my son to try, so I really don't want it to be them! I think I'll be calling them up to double check on processing.

I don't know anything about the ice cream company's facility. But there's a question that might be good to ask them: do they test for gluten cc for their gluten free products? Many companies in the USA do not, and if they don't test, and they don't have a gluten free facility, then there can be a slight risk of gluten cc.

Many companies have gluten free facilities instead of processing their gluten products with their gluten free ones. I imagine that this is because it eliminates some of that risk.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Along with a sensitivity to wheat gluten, celiacs are often sensitive to other things such as annatto, a natural yellow food coloring that is often used in ice cream and yellow cheese, (Johnsonville Brats also contain annatto as a coloring agent, and I can't keep them down for 5 minutes!). Tartrazine, (FD&C Yellow #5) is another one that affects me, but it's made from coal-tar along with all the other AZO food colorings! Who would want to eat that, anyway? Unfortunately, it's very commonly used in foods, candy, medicines and vitamin pills.

Ask your doctor when it's a good idea to ingest petroleum distillates, and he'll tell you, "NEVER!". Then, ask him why they put it in the medicines he expects you to take....

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.