Jump to content



   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Yeast Extract?


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 hobbitqueen18

hobbitqueen18

    New Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts

Posted 26 June 2012 - 08:45 PM

Does any one know if Yeast extract has gluten in it or is considered to be something NOT to eat for those with a gluten intolerance?
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 psawyer

psawyer

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,006 posts

Posted 27 June 2012 - 06:11 AM

It is gluten-free, but some people avoid it due to its MSG content.

MSG is gluten-free, but some people, including some celiacs, react to it.
  • 0
Peter
Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000.
Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986
Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

#3 Skylark

Skylark

    Glutenologist

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,490 posts

Posted 27 June 2012 - 06:31 AM

As Peter says, normal yeast extract is fine.

Brewers yeast that you might find in supplements or "superfoods" has gluten because it's a by-product of brewing beer.
  • 1


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: