6 replies to this topic

#1 Whitewall

Whitewall

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 09 July 2012 - 04:22 PM

I have been fighting with doctors for about 4 years on behalf of my daughter, Hannah (now 9). I have been convinced all this time that she had Celiac Disease but no doctor seemed to care. Her GI doctor said (when she was 5) that she had IBS and would live in pain the rest of her life and that's just the way it is. The allergist only offered to do a blood test (when I insisted she needed to be check) and of course, with the high false negative rate, it came back negative.
We just got results back from Enterolab and I was not surprised to see the positive result on the gluten test but I was a little surprised by the rest of her results, positive for milk, egg, and soy sensitivity. Here were her results:
Fecal Anti-gliadin IgA 126 Units (Normal Range is less than 10 Units)

Fecal Anti-casein (cow’s milk) IgA 43 Units (Normal Range is less than 10 Units)

Fecal Anti-ovalbumin (chicken egg) IgA 39 Units (Normal Range is less than 10 Units)

Fecal Anti-soy IgA 37 Units (Normal Range is less than 10 Units)

So now I am wondering just what this means. Does this mean that she is actually allergic to milk, eggs and soy. Or, does it mean that everything is bothering her because she is irritated from the gluten? Does this mean she will need to permanently be off those items also?
I feel very confused about this.
We have an appointment with a pediatric GI doctor the end of this month, I am a little worried however that, like all the doctors we have seen before, this one will blow off celiac and the test results.

One other thing, after looking at other forum posts Hannah's numbers look really high. Does anyone know what the range is for the milk, egg and soy tests?

Thanks
Kristin

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 Lfrost

Lfrost

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 111 posts

Posted 09 July 2012 - 05:17 PM