#1 jorgensenjess

jorgensenjess

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 10 July 2012 - 11:05 AM

Hello,

I am new to this whole gluten-free thing. My doctor and I think that my 15 month old son has Celiac but we haven't had any tests done yet (I am actually taking him to get the blood test done today). Anyway we are leaving to California tomorrow from Utah and I am so stressed trying to think of snacks for the car and to know if there are any fast food or other restaurants that he can even safely eat at. So do any of you guys have any favorite snacks you take on road trips that a 15 month old would like and/or is there anywhere you actually trust to eat? Also, I think I am going to buy him some gluten-free bread, do you have a favorite type or brand?

Thanks in advance!

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 1974girl

1974girl

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 318 posts

Posted 10 July 2012 - 12:58 PM

I wouldn't go gluten free until you see if your son will need a biopsy. You have to be on gluten for it to be correct. So go on your trip as normal until you hear back about blood work and biopsies.

#3 rosetapper23

rosetapper23

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,361 posts

Posted 10 July 2012 - 01:14 PM

Since you're having the blood tests done before you go to California, you're right to want to feed him gluten-free food. As far as snacks go, he would be able to eat dried fruits and gluten-free cereals (specially marked boxes of Chex cereals, Cocoa Pebbles and Fruity Pebbles, and specially marked boxes of Rice Krispies...and I can't remember if Cheerios has a gluten-free version). Be careful about the Pebbles cereals, because I think the marshmallow variety is NOT gluten free. You might also explore the gluten-free cereal aisle, because there are some good brands, like Enviro Kids. I'm sure you'll come up with some ideas once you peruse the gluten-free options.