Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  

Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:

Ads by Google:

Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Kissing And Cross Contamination

21 posts in this topic

Kissing can gluten us?! I'n a newbie and just learning new things. My niece had been very sick after years of gluten-free relief. After much research, and then self testing, she figured out that when she kissed her boyfriend after he ate gluten the cross contamination would make her sick. I've also read this on the internet. This is scary news. I'm dating - how do I protect myself and communicate this without sounding like a crazy person? Bring my date a tooth brush with gluten free toothpaste??? Anyone else dealing with this? This gets overwhelming, I keep finding out more dangers. I'm new to this and I find I can only research a little bit each night without getting anxious.... friendly support out there?

Ads by Google:

Welcome!

It's overwhelming at first to read and try to absorb all the intricacies of cross contamination and to know where traces of gluten can be found. But yes, kissing is a source of gluten. But the solution is simple. Brushing well. If you are dating it does take the spontaneity out of the first kiss. But I call it the Kiss of Death to kiss someone who ate gluten. In the beginning I wasn't sure that would be true? Could be true? Is it true for me? Well, yes, it is true. So now I have to have the "celiac talk" before the first kiss. But it's way better than being sick for a week.

Don't worry. There are people who are married to gluten eater's who manage quite well. Their spouses know not to kiss until they brush. It's probably a little harder when you are single and on a new date. But gluten is a word most people have at least heard of. So yeah, bring an extra toothbrush for them...why not?

It's kind of hard to wrap your brain around all the changes you have to make. But even kissing can be managed.