This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Gluten Exposure

Medcoder03

Medcoder03 Rookie

Hello,

I am a total newbie. I have suspected a problem and then I am narrowing this down to gluten issues.

I just started eating gluten free for a couple days and we went to a car show and of course I thought that I could control my eating.

We had pulled pork with a bun....I tried not to eat much of the bun..Yeah you sure know what now is happening "abdominal discomfort and gas"

Oh well I am sure this was it. How do you handle car shows and fairs. I guess I just need to eat before hand.

All tips and tricks are appreciated.

Thanks,

Angela

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

eatmeat4good Enthusiast

Welcome!

Yes, these places are difficult when you are new to being gluten free.

My first trip to the fair resulted in my negotiating with myself that I could eat the frozen chocolate dipped cheesecake on a stick if I was very, very, careful not to eat the graham cracker crust! OMG!! Some lessons just have to be learned the hard way. :huh:

Now I eat before and fill my purse with safe snacks and I only risk eating if they the stand that sells nothing but corn on the cob and it's still wrapped in husks. That is the only safe "fair food" for me.

It's kinda fun to observe other's enjoying their gluteny food but it is so not worth a week of being sick. So I'm happy to just watch.