Jump to content



   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Reeses Crispy Crunch


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Chad Sines

Chad Sines

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 279 posts

Posted 17 July 2012 - 07:16 AM

Is the delicious, life fulfilling Reeses Crispy Crunch safe? I did not notice any issues on the label; however, the Nestle site does not list it as gluten-free. I found one post on here where someone mentioned it, but nothing else. I did contact the company and am waiting for a response, but curious if someone already knows.
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 Lisa

Lisa

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,799 posts

Posted 17 July 2012 - 07:28 AM

Is the delicious, life fulfilling Reeses Crispy Crunch safe? I did not notice any issues on the label; however, the Nestle site does not list it as gluten-free. I found one post on here where someone mentioned it, but nothing else. I did contact the company and am waiting for a response, but curious if someone already knows.

I don't know whether it's safe or not, but just the words "crispy crunch" would warm me off. B)
  • 0
Lisa

Gluten Free - August 15, 2004

"Not all who wander are lost" - JRR Tolkien

#3 Jestgar

Jestgar

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,755 posts

Posted 17 July 2012 - 07:54 AM

On the surface it seems fine:

PEANUTS; SUGAR; VEGETABLE OIL (COCOA BUTTER; PALM KERNEL; PALM; SHEA; SAFFLOWER AND/OR SUNFLOWER OIL); CHOCOLATE; CORN SYRUP; MILK; CONTAINS 2% OR LESS OF: LACTOSE (MILK); COCOA; WHEY (MILK); MILK FAT ; NONFAT MILK; SALT; MOLASSES; SOY LECITHIN; PGPR, EMULSIFIER; TBHQ (PRESERVATIVE); ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR
MANUFACTURED ON THE SAME EQUIPMENT THAT PROCESSES COCONUT.


  • 0
"But then, in all honesty, if scientists don't play god, who will?"
- James Watson

My sources are unreliable, but their information is fascinating.
- Ashleigh Brilliant

Leap, and the net will appear.

#4 Chad Sines

Chad Sines

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 279 posts

Posted 17 July 2012 - 12:36 PM

supposedly the crispy crunch is from a peanut candy vs bread/cracker. Seems to be safe. Hope they confirm it.
  • 0

#5 Chad Sines

Chad Sines

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 279 posts

Posted 17 July 2012 - 02:10 PM

The joys of a non-answer. Assuming the label is accurate, they should be okay..



Hi Chad,

Thank you for contacting The Hershey Company.

For your convenience, we have provided a list of current products that have been fully evaluated and qualify as gluten free using standards proposed by the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA). This list of gluten-free confections is available on our Web site: http://www.thehershe...px#/Gluten-Free

Please note, this list is not all inclusive as we have other gluten-free confections. The best way to determine if our products contain a gluten ingredient is to read our product label. This label includes an accurate, current listing of the ingredients in our products. Because, on occasion, the list of ingredients can change, we strongly encourage you to check the ingredient label on the package each time before you make a purchase.

If you should have questions concerning additional products, please call us at 800-468-1714. A representative will be glad to assist you with any questions you may have.

We appreciate your loyalty as a consumer.


Jean
Consumer Representative

008510628A

This email address is restricted for outgoing messages only. For that reason, please do not respond to this email as the inbox is not monitored.
  • 0

#6 psawyer

psawyer

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,028 posts

Posted 17 July 2012 - 02:25 PM

Um, actually, that is what I consider the best possible answer. They told you that if the product contained gluten, the label would disclose the fact. No worries about info from their call center or web site reflecting a newer or older version.

The best way to determine if our products contain a gluten ingredient is to read our product label. This label includes an accurate, current listing of the ingredients in our products.


  • 0
Peter
Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000.
Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986
Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

#7 Chad Sines

Chad Sines

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 279 posts

Posted 17 July 2012 - 03:06 PM

As long as they label clearly. It is interesting to me though that they have a list of gluten-free items but it really only has a few items listed.
  • 0

#8 Lisa

Lisa

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,799 posts

Posted 17 July 2012 - 04:11 PM

As long as they label clearly. It is interesting to me though that they have a list of gluten-free items but it really only has a few items listed.


The products listed are most likely tested to be at or under the 20ppm of gluten (as the proposed US standard). The other products that do not contain gluten are not tested, and not listed as gluten free. You will see this frequently with many companies.

I read labeled and if there is no gluten listed, I have no problem consuming that product.

For those more sensitive or concerns, I would recommend that they buy Certified Gluten Free Products.
  • 0
Lisa

Gluten Free - August 15, 2004

"Not all who wander are lost" - JRR Tolkien

#9 justlisa

justlisa

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 164 posts

Posted 25 July 2012 - 05:38 PM

The question that I keep coming up with has to do with the "significance" of the usage of the word(s) "ingredient(s)"... I keep seeing similar disclaimers/statements from companies regarding their products not having gluten in the "ingredients"...

My question is about processing...the facility/equipment....is it used for gluten products? I read about CC, in here, so often that I'm kind of surprised it hasn't come up in this thread...
  • 0

#10 Lisa

Lisa

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,799 posts

Posted 25 July 2012 - 06:07 PM

My question is about processing...the facility/equipment....is it used for gluten products? I read about CC, in here, so often that I'm kind of surprised it hasn't come up in this thread...


Contact the company and get first hand information. :)
  • 0
Lisa

Gluten Free - August 15, 2004

"Not all who wander are lost" - JRR Tolkien

#11 justlisa

justlisa

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 164 posts

Posted 25 July 2012 - 07:33 PM

Lisa... I am not interested for myself (no interest in this candy)... I was just curious that the CC discussion had not come up...that's all...
  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: