This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

New To Dh

tetleyt

tetleyt Newbie

I am new to all of this, even to talking on forums. I was diagnosed with celiac in 2005, probably had it for the twenty years previous. My symptoms weren't the normal gastro ones, but the main ones were that I had extremely severe leg cramps, was iron deficient anemic, and was a very gassy person. I've been gluten free since my diagnosis and all my symptoms disappeared. Even with an accidental glutening I would have no reaction. And then comes July 16th and I break out in these little welts that I thought resembled bug bites on the top of both legs, behind each knee, and a few on my stomach and lower back. The welts turned into blisters and started to itch like crazy. I spent a good deal of time searching online as to what it could possible be but it wasn't til last Friday that I suspected DH. I saw a doctor on Monday (not a dermatologist, that appt. will take 3 weeks) and when I suggested DH, he did some checking online and said it looks like it to him. My question is, can I be gluten-free for seven years and now break out with this rash? After reading the threads on this forum and all about the iodine thing I am sort of in disbelief. My husband wants to believe it's poison ivy even though he knows it isn't.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

squirmingitch Veteran