Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Salad Dressings (U.s.)
0

14 posts in this topic

I apologize, in advance, if this has been asked (answered) somewhere already (I tried the search feature on the forum...no success)...

It would be helpful, to me, if I could "narrow down" some brands/flavors to investigate some commercial salad dressings that are gluten-free that others, here, eat...

So...can anyone tell me of any commercial/store-bought salad dressings that they use that are eat???

I've been trying to read labels, but most have ingredients that are a "mystery" to me (i.e. "spice", "natural flavor", etc, etc)...

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

In the U.S., the VAST majority of dressings are gluten-free. And because wheat has to be listed, reading ingredients for dressings is usually easy. I'm sure there are some dressings somewhere that use barley, but I can't name them, and it would most often be listed as malt anyway.

Kraft will always clearly list any gluten so there's no mystery about reading Kraft dressing ingredients. If it doesn't say wheat, rye or barley, it's gluten-free. I also use Marie's and even Kroger after checking for wheat. We also use Good Seasonings Italian dry mix to make our own Italian.

Overall, dressing really is pretty easy.

richard

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Richard... Thanks so much for the response! Just made things a lot easier for me... :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I second what Richard said. I use many different brands. I suppose its possible to have "malt vinegar" used in one, but it will be labelled. The other thing to look for are the "Asian" types that have soy sauce. Should list the ingredients of the soy sauce - "soy sauce (soy, wheat, water...)"

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hidden Valley has a lot of dressings that are gluten free. They've started putting a little yellow icon next to the products on their website if they're safe.

http://www.hiddenvalley.com/products/hidden-valley-bottle-dressings/

I think the only unsafe hidden valley bottle dressings are the Caesar and creamy Parmesan but you would still want to double check any before you try them. My two favorites are the original ranch and Italian with herbs. Oh and southwest chipotle is amazing on chicken or in tacos, wraps, or even fries!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




I like Briannas french dressing its yummy. They have all kinds of dressings too.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Oh my gosh, I just discovered Brianna's dressings. They are so freaking good. The positive is that I've never enjoyed salads so much in my life. The negative is that the odds of my husband ever getting Kraft dressing near my face again without a gun to my head is pretty much zero. :lol:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I like Briannas french dressing its yummy. They have all kinds of dressings too.

Those look yummy. I'll look for them. They have a ginger one that is not gluten-free according to the website - has soy sauce

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I like Briannas french dressing its yummy. They have all kinds of dressings too.

Oh my gosh, I just discovered Brianna's dressings. They are so freaking good. The positive is that I've never enjoyed salads so much in my life. The negative is that the odds of my husband ever getting Kraft dressing near my face again without a gun to my head is pretty much zero. :lol:

Because you two recommended them, I got the Brianna's Blush vinegerette. So yummy. I'm eating it right now on a salad with steak, strawberries and blue cheese. :D

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just happen to know that Wish Bone Russian Dressing contains wheat. It was my hubs favorite dressing but it was clearly labeled as having wheat in it.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you are avoiding soy you may need to make your own dressing. It is pretty easy to do by just adding some olive oil and vinager and maybe some lemon juice to a jar with some herbs and salt/pepper and shaking it up good. Let it sit in the refrig for a few hours. If you want it thick add a teaspoon or so of psyillium husks to thicken it. Easy-peasy.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

These guys have given you great suggestions, but I want to throw one more at you. I usually make my own, but sometimes, I just don't wanna!! :)

Marzetti's Simply Dressed (in the chilled section of the produce dept.) because there is no soybean oil in them and they clearly label the ingredients.

They do not contain preservatives, trans fat, high fructose corn syrup, MSG and artificial flavors. (all of which seem to give me grief <_< )

The flavors are very good. I especially liked the cole slaw one, the champagne one and the strawberry & poppy seed one:

http://www.marzetti.com/products/marzetti/salad-dressings/marzetti-simply-dressed/simply-dressed-strawberry-poppyseed-salad-dressing-12-oz.htmtarwberry

The only one I did NOT try is this one, for obvious reasons :D :

Ginger Sesame Salad Dressing!!!--contains WHEAT.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I only really like oil and vinegar based dressings so I normally make my own but often have a bottle of Maple Grove Farms of Vermont Cranberry Balsamic in the fridge for when I don't want to make my own.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I really like Ken's dressings they have quite a few options as well as Old Cape Cod. 😃 I have made my own before but sometimes I'm just too lazy lol

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,099
    • Total Posts
      920,354
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Oh, Trish at the GlutenFreeWatchDog tested Planter's honey roasted peanuts three years ago.  The can did not state gluten-free, but showed no gluten ingrediants (per Kraft policy).  Test result: less than 5 part per million which is pretty much gluten-free.  
    • What if it were something else that glutened you?  Maybe you ate too much of a good thing?  I once (three months post dx) ate too much gluten-free fried chicken, vomited, passed out and fractured my back (osteoporosis) in the process.  Paramedics, ER doc and Cardio all thought I was having a heart attack.   No.  It was sheer gluttony and bad bones.  Not good to overload with a damaged gut.    Maybe you did get some contaminated nuts.  Afterall, anything processed is suspect.  What might be well tolerated by some, might be too much for others.  We all have our various levels of gluten intolerance.   The old 20 parts per million is just a guideline, but science does not really know (lack of funding......doe anyone really care enough to find out?)  My hubby has been gluten-free for 15 years.  When I was first diagnosed, I tried to eat the gluten-free foods that I normally gave him.   Problem was he was healed and I was not.  Things like Xanthan Gum in commercial processed gluten-free breads make me feel like I have been glutened, but it is just (and still is) an intolerance.  So no bread for me unless I make it myself using a different gum.   Too lazy, so I do without.   so, ask your doctor if you really want to know or lay off the cashews and test them again in a month using a certified gluten-free nut.  I wish this was easier!    
    • I have intolerances to a few foods now, so I was wondering about that.. I love cashews though, and a month or two ago I was eating them all the time with no problems at all. I mean, could I really have developed an intolerance to them since then? I don't know if they're made on shared lines (it didn't say on the package so I assumed they weren't), but I'll give them a call. I'm really, really sensitive to cross contamination. Even if something is just made in the same facility (but not on shared lines) it will make me sick. If that's not it, then I'm not really sure
    • Research with KP and find a celiac-savvy GI in your area ( read the biographies). and ask your PCP/GP for a referral to that specific GI (not his buddy).  Ask the GI for the rest  of the celiac panel or proceed with an endoscopy/biopsies -- 4 to six.  Keep eating gluten daily until all testing is complete.  Document and request in writing.  Do not worry about symptoms.  There are over 300 of them and some celiacs have none!   Research all that you can about celiac disease.  The University of Chicago has a great celiac website that has testing Information etc.   Poet me know how it works out.  Hope you feel better soon!  
    • I react to both wheat and barley.  I've opted to just go completely gluten free, for the sake of simplicity and my sanity.  I don't have a diagnosis of celiac disease, but I strongly suspect it.  Unfortunately, I'm not willing to endure the misery of staying on gluten long enough to pursue further testing.  I just know I need to avoid the gluten grains, so I do.  
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,134
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Alinapep
    Joined