Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Gluten-Free Label But Wheat In Ingredients List
0

9 posts in this topic

Hi guys,

I'm a little confused. I live in NZ where apparently the food laws are very strict when it comes to labelling a product gluten-free - it must have no detectable traces of gluten. So I bought Sakata rice crackers (seaweed) as it had a gluten-free sign on the front. Started eating it then noticed that under soy sauce, where was wheat in there!

So, is there some sort of processing method that removes the gluten from it and it is actually gluten-free??

Appreciate your input =)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Hi guys,

I'm a little confused. I live in NZ where apparently the food laws are very strict when it comes to labelling a product gluten-free - it must have no detectable traces of gluten. So I bought Sakata rice crackers (seaweed) as it had a gluten-free sign on the front. Started eating it then noticed that under soy sauce, where was wheat in there!

So, is there some sort of processing method that removes the gluten from it and it is actually gluten-free??

Appreciate your input =)

There are a few little exceptions. I'm Aus but I think the laws are similar. The wheat could be from glucose syrup and if that's the case then it is gluten free due to the processing method. In Australia gluten free on a label overides any listing of wheat as it means the processing method has removed the gluten. They still declare the wheat though as some people who are very sensitive can't tolerate it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Food Standards Australia New Zealand [FSANZ] is a bi-national Government agency that administer the Australia New Zealand Food Standards Code in both countries.

As to labelling: wheat is an allergen that is required by law to be included on the label of any food that it is in ... regardless ..

Food Standards defines gluten free as

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Some naturally fermented soy sauce gets broken down by the cultures to where the gluten is below detection limits. Problem is, the tests don't work right on broken-down gluten so you can't really know whether the soy sauce is safe. Since the laws don't take the subtleties of gluten testing into account they can be legally labeled gluten-free. I personally wouldn't eat them.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I found this on their site:

http://www.sakata.uk.com/gluten-free.htm

I don't really understand what they mean by: "the wheat proteins are removed or de-natured by the soy sauce manufacturing process and therefore there is no longer any detectable gluten present."

That makes it sound like any soy sauce would be ok.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




I found this on their site:

http://www.sakata.uk.com/gluten-free.htm

I don't really understand what they mean by: "the wheat proteins are removed or de-natured by the soy sauce manufacturing process and therefore there is no longer any detectable gluten present."

That makes it sound like any soy sauce would be ok.

As I said above, "not detectable" assumes the test for gluten works reliably on soy sauce. It doesn't. Eat at your own risk.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

sakata are a well known gluten free brand, they process the wheat so highly that there is no gluten detected. We have very strict laws so it has to be under 3ppm. We eat sakata stuff all the time.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you can tolerate distilled alcohol then you should be alright with this product. Funny how when I read this I think of Kikkoman. Their soy sauce contains wheat but is distilled and considered gluten-free. They released a statement about this some time ago and I've read quite a bit about the controversy. After this happened they then released a gluten-free soy sauce, probably more out of spite then actual concern. I've heard that on the gluten-free test kits (which I've never purchased only heard about) people claim Kikkoman is completely safe, the regular one I mean. Meanwhile their gluten-free soy sauce is almost double the price.

It is different for every person and that is why I don't come on here often because all I see are posts about people eating gluten-free food and getting glutened. It is very depressing. Again, if you can tolerate distilled alcohol then you should be fine with this product. Personally, I think they should come out with a blood test to see if you got glutened, one that you can do at home. Now that would be interesting.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

> "the wheat proteins are removed or de-natured by the soy sauce manufacturing process and therefore there is no longer any detectable gluten present."

> That makes it sound like any soy sauce would be ok.

I would call bullshit on that - not you what they put on their site. If that were true I would not get searing pains and all that other fun stuff that comes along with having Celiac. Plus if every other brand of soy sauce in the world does not make the claim that their soy sauc eis gluten free, I think they are just doing an end run around the laws to make their product Gluten free so that more people will buy it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      103,876
    • Total Posts
      919,427
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • gluten intolerance, dairy intolerance and fructose
      Look into The Paleo Approach by Sara Ballentyne, PhD.  Great resource and will probably answer your questions.  I have the same problem. You have to really read labels.  The only coconut milk I can use is an organic canned one.  Others have too many ingredients that are problematic.  For now, stay with meat and vegetables as someone else has recommended.  If rice works for you, great.  If not, winter squash is good.  The diet change is overwhelming at first but then it starts to make sense.  The one good thing about an intolerance versus allergy is the possibility of someday being able to add it back into your diet once your gut has healed.
    • Anyone experience brain fog like this?
      I went gluten free about a month ago, and was finally feeling *great* last week when wham -- my well-meaning Dad cooked me dinner and forgot to check the ingredients on the fish sauce he used. The upside of being glutened for the first time is that, after a couple weeks of feeling good, I feel like I can discern the symptoms a lot better now. I've noticed that the worst part, aside from the nausea, is the "brain fog," but I'm curious if my experience of brain fog is the same as or similar to what other people are feeling. For me, it becomes almost physically painful to concentrate on anything. If I try to read a book, or watch a TV show, it makes me feel dizzy, overwhelmed, and nauseous. For a couple days, I feel like all I can do is try to stay still and do as little as possible while I wait it out. It feels similar to anxiety, but not quite the same, and none of the usual tricks for getting through a panic attack help. Do any of you experience brain fog in a similar way? Where it basically makes you feel sick to try and concentrate on anything, even fun and relaxing things?
    • gluten intolerance, dairy intolerance and fructose
      I've never gone fructose free so can't help much with that.  But any fruit is probably a problem.  If you are serious about avoiding fructose you could do a search and print out a list of foods to avoid. http://www.mayoclinic.org/fructose-intolerance/expert-answers/faq-20058097 Yes, it very possible to have multiple food intolerance issues.  Many people have multiple food intolerances.  It might help to avoid any foods that are sweet for now.  Meat and most veggies are probably the way to go.  You may want to get some jerky to eat for snacks.  Peanuts might be ok but you'll need to verify that.  Boiled eggs are probably ok.  Most soda would be a no-no.      
    • Help
      Hi Courtney, You asked about dairy, and RMJ got it right.  Celiac disease destroys the villi lining of the small intestine.  Those villi make the lactase enzyme we need to digest dairy. Sigmoid colon thickening could be related to diverticulitis.  Which according to Wiki is a fairly common condition but doesn't always cause symptoms.  Diverticulitis can cause a problem if there is an infection though.  The sigmoid colon is part of the large intestine.  Celiac disease affects the small intestine, so celiac isn't likely involved.  I am not sure why the resident suggested celiac, unless there were some other reason to do so.  Possibly the weight loss, which could be explained by celiac disease.  Thickening of the colon may happen with Crohn's disease also.  And I'm not sure about UCD (ulcerative colitis disease) but it might cause that also, not sure https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Diverticulosis https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sigmoid_colon http://biology-pages.info/G/GITract.html#pancreas http://www.ccfa.org/what-are-crohns-and-colitis/what-is-ulcerative-colitis/
    • News: Celiac.com: Government of Canada Invests in Gluten-Free Awareness
      Sticking to a gluten-free diet, which is the only accepted treatment for celiac disease, can be challenging and costly because of limited food choices. View the full article
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

    • Jmg  »  admin

      Hello Admin!
      I don't know whether this is of interest to post on your articles feed:
      http://pratt.duke.edu/about/news/window-guts-brain
      Kind Regards,
      Matt
      · 2 replies
    • celiac sharon  »  cyclinglady

      Hello cycling lady, have you noticed my picture is showing up as you?  Have no idea why but it's rather disconcerting to see my picture and your words 😉  Do you know how to fix it?  You seem to have far more experience with this board than I do
      · 1 reply
    • Larry Gessner  »  cyclinglady

      Hi There, I don't know if there is a place for videos in the forum. I just watched "The Truth About Gluten" I think it is a good video. I would like to share it somewhere but don't know where it should go. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
      Here is the link if you have never watched it.
      https://youtu.be/IU6jVEwpjnE Thank You,
      Larry
      · 2 replies
  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      60,911
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    jamieleggatt@gmail.com
    Joined