Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Soybean Malt?
0

3 posts in this topic

Does anyone know if soybean malt contains gluten? It seems, from what I've read, that it does not contain barley, but I can't tell for sure. It is an ingredient in an otherwise safe Korean hot pepper paste.

Thanks!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Does anyone know if soybean malt contains gluten? It seems, from what I've read, that it does not contain barley, but I can't tell for sure. It is an ingredient in an otherwise safe Korean hot pepper paste.

Thanks!

I was curious about this so looked it up.

While traditional homemade doenjang is made with soybeans and brine only, many factory-made variants of doenjang contain a fair amount of wheat flour just like most factory-made soy sauce does. Some current makers also add fermented, dried, and ground anchovies to accentuate the doenjang's savory flavor.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Doenjang

Hope that helps.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Any grain can be malted, although barley is the most common. I would not expect barley to be present in malted soybeans. If it was, the ingredients list would disclose it as a distinct item.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.