11 replies to this topic

#1 Big D

Big D

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 28 August 2012 - 06:34 AM

I'm very new to this and currently on an elimination diet of dairy and gluten. I plan to do this for one month and then introduce dairy, wait a month and then introduce gluten.

How long does it take to feel sick from eating gluten. I ate some gluten (by accident) this past Sat and felt fine that evening. The next day was not so good. Abd pain, malaise, bad gas. Symptoms lasted for two days and now I'm starting to feel better.

Does that sound normal?

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 nvsmom

nvsmom

• Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,602 posts

Posted 28 August 2012 - 08:32 AM

I think reactions vary wildly. Some people have almost no symptoms and others end up bedridden. Some celiacs have no gastro symptoms where as others just get that. Reactions hit immediately to days later...

I tend to get a stomach ache after 15 minutes; bloating in about an hour ,which is very uncomfortable for about a day, and lasts in a milder form for a few days; and within 24 hours I get a migraine that lasts a few days. I won't feel quite right for a good week or two.
Nicole Posted Image

"Acceptance is the key to happiness."

ITP - 1993
Celiac - June, 2012
Hypothyroid - August, 2012

CANADIAN

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

#3 LauraB0927

LauraB0927

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 208 posts

Posted 28 August 2012 - 01:29 PM

First my question is, do you have Celiac? Or have a gluten intolerance or allergy? I saw that you said you are going to eventually re-introduce gluten, is that to see if you are intolerant? If you haven't been tested yet, I'd get the full Celiac panel testing done before starting an elimination diet, especially if you are suspecting that gluten is the culprit. If you start cutting out gluten now, then you may never get accurate testing results.