Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Natural And Artificial Flavorings?


  • Please log in to reply

2 replies to this topic

#1 drakesmom

 
drakesmom

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
 

Posted 28 August 2012 - 06:17 PM

My 12 year old son was diagnosed with celiac 2 weeks ago. I am overwhelmed with trying to find foods that he can and will eat. He is very picky and does not eat much fruit or vegetables. I was advised that things with natural and artificial flavors have hidden glutens. When shopping at the store a lot of items have natural or artificial flavors even those marked certified gluten free. How can it be certified gluten free if it has hidden glutens in it? When do I know that something is safe for him to eat? Thank you!
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 Mizzo

 
Mizzo

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 511 posts
 

Posted 29 August 2012 - 05:14 AM

If it says Gluten free it should be fine.
If it says Artificial flavoring (only) it should be fine.
If it says Natural flavorings it may not be fine it depends on the product and company. At first I was calling all companies and sometimes still do.


MY personal rule :
If the only questionable ingredient is Natural flavoring ( ie no wheat , rye , barley or oats ) and its a dairy or sugar candy product it's probably fine. If it's a grain/protein based product I consider the source and possibly call.

Stawberry Yogurt - ok
Sweetarts = ok
Cheese balls = ok
Flavored sausage = I would call if not declared

According to the FDA a natural flavoring is the (essence or essential oil) of a product. If that flavoring comes from Wheat, Rye, or Barley it should be declared.

I know this does not give you definite answers as a guide for all products but NOBODY can give you that. If you question an item ,post it and maybe someone can tell you.
  • 0

#3 bartfull

 
bartfull

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,563 posts
 

Posted 29 August 2012 - 08:03 AM

Flavoring and "natural flavor" are USUALLY carried on corn.
  • 1

gluten-free since June, 2011

Can't eat soy, corn, or foods high in salicylates.

Nightshades now seem to bother me too.

 

BUT I CAN STILL PLAY MY GUITAR AND THAT"S ALL THAT MATTERS!

 





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: