Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Gluten Free Beer Estrella Daura
0

9 posts in this topic

While at the store last week to get my refill of Redbridge beer I noticed something new. Estrella Damm Daura " Gluten Free" beer. It is labeled as real beer and is certified to have a gluten content below 6ppm. I picked up a four pack instead of my usual Redbridge. It tasted pretty good. Later that evening I had a horrible reaction. I brushed it off thinking maybe just a fluke. Well last evening I consumed the remaining two bottles. Same reaction. Guess it's the beer. I dont mean to trash the beer maker but I think even the small amount of gluten which remains may be too much for some to handle. Just a warning.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

It appears that in the US, beers made from barley or malr beverages, may not claim gluten free. It was explained somewhere (I'm looking for it but if someone else finds it first, great) that the test for gluten used for food doesn't work well in detecting the protein in barley.

From the Goverment agency in the US that regulates alcohol, a May 2012 ruling (page 5):

http://www.ttb.gov/rulings/2012-2.pdf

"were produced using wheat, barley, rye, or a crossbred hybrid of these grains, and were then processed, treated, or crafted to remove the gluten. TTB will allow use of the statement “Processed or Treated or Crafted to remove gluten,” together with a qualifying statement to inform consumers that: (1) the product was made from a grain that contains gluten; (2) there is currently no valid test to verify the gluten content of fermented products; and (3) the finished product may contain gluten. Because the current tests used to measure the gluten content of fermented products have not been scientifically validated, such statements may not include any reference to the level of gluten in the product. TTB believes that the qualifying statement is necessary to "

"Held, the term “gluten-free” is considered misleading when used in the labeling and advertising of alcohol beverages to describe an alcohol beverage product that is made with any amount of wheat, barley, rye, or a crossbred hybrid of these grains, or any ingredient derived from these grains."

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here's the one I was looking for by Tom:

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I posted on that other thread ---and I recall the controversy around this beer.

Meatballman, it's not for us.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks guys. I just got soo excited when I saw a new beer labeled Gluten Free. Should have checked the board first. Oh well. Should be some kind of law preventing them from labeling it as such.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Thanks guys. I just got soo excited when I saw a new beer labeled Gluten Free. Should have checked the board first. Oh well. Should be some kind of law preventing them from labeling it as such.

Actually there is a law. I posted it. One of our biggest stores here said they didn't know about it. I'm trying to decide if I should give them a copy of the ruling or just try to report it to the ATF.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

All I could find is from 2010,which mentions the beer you drank:

"In the United States, two regulating agencies have authority over the booze category—the Alcohol and Tobacco, Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB) and the Food and Drug Administration (FDA). The TTB doesn’t allow beer manufacturers to put “health claims” like “gluten-free” on their labels. The FDA currently does.

So which agency regulates which beers? The TTB recognizes beer as only those malt beverages made with barley and hops. Thus, the only gluten-free beer it regulates is barley beer like Estrella Damm’s Daura de-glutenized beer, not beer made with gluten-free grains.

This poses a problem for consumers shopping for gluten-free beer. The TTB does not allow the gluten-free label to be slapped on bottles of Daura, despite the fact this beer currently tests to less than 6 ppm gluten.

Other gluten-free beer made with non-traditional beer-making grains like sorghum, millet, corn and rice are not regulated by the TTB because, again, they’re not considered true beer under the agency’s definition. Regulation of these “non-beers” thus falls to the FDA, which currently allows gluten-free labeling but doesn’t define what “gluten-free” actually means.

The FDA has proposed a standard of less than 20 ppm gluten. It’s expected to release final regulations on labeling gluten-free foods and beverages later this year. At that point, we can expect more labeling changes throughout the U.S. gluten-free marketplace, including on many brands of beer."

....which is the law Karen has posted.

The source for this information, though now outdated is:

http://www.livingwithout.com/issues/4_20/gluten_free_brewing_bonanza-2895-1.html

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I made the same mistake with this beer. As well as Two Brother's Prairie Path Ale that is labeled gluten-free. Yep, its made with malted barley.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I did that too! And up here in Canada it is labelled at gluten-free to 3ppm!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0