Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Beer?
0

10 posts in this topic

Still on my whole foods diet.... Is Red Bridge gluten free beer acceptable on whole food diet or am I messing up.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

I think you should make your "whole foods" diet your very own version...and have a gluten free beer if you want to! You're only messing up if you think you are. People try to eat mostly only whole foods but everyone likes to indulge from time to time. As long as you are not ingesting gluten I wouldn't worry too much about it. Stress isn't good for you!! Have a gluten free beer!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I agree. I don't say a word about my diet to anyone - gluten-free or not, other than "I'm gluten-free".

Yeah, I'm grain- light. But if I say anything like that to someone, next thing i know, that person will catch me eating a bag of Tostitos and think I'm "cheating". So I just eat what works and don't label it.

So have a beer and gluten-free pizza and have a good night, ya hear??

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, I'd say that beer is on any diet you want it to be. Kind of like how chocolate is its own food group. ;)

I had pizza and beer for dinner the other night and it was very yummy. :) We had a movie night here at home. Ordered from Dominos for the others and I made mine from the square Kinnickinnick (spelling? lol) crusts. Sauce, cheese, mushrooms, spinach, onions, and pepperoni. B)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




For Heaven's sake, have a good beer. Try Green's! (Sorry, self-professed beer snob) Even Bard's Tale and New Grist are better than Redbridge... :lol:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Everyone has fun pointing out when people "break" their diet. 90% of the people I know do not know I am gluten-free or more accurately the SCD diet. Just no need for the majority of people to know that information. Even when eating out, it is only an issue if we choose to make it an issue.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Those beverages are really important for quality of life, but i'm not liking gluten-free beers. I just bought some Bard's but haven't tried it yet. I don't like New Grist at all. So it kind of looks like I'm not a beer drinker anymore, and we have a wonderful local microbrewery just down the street. Alas. But I have discovered Angry Orchard hard ciders, which more than make up for it. Go for it!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Other gluten free beers that I have tried,include:

From Milwaukee, WI - 2 breweries. New Grist, by Lakefront Brewery, made from sorghum and hops, 6-pack costs $8 - $12.

Shakpuro, by Sprecher, made from sorghum, millet and hops, 6-pack costs about $13. Not as sweet as New Grist.

Boulder CO - Tread Lightly, by New Planet, made from sorghum, corn, orange peel and hops. 4-pack cost around $10.

Henderson NV - Fox Tail, by Joseph James Brewing Co. made from organic rice, nectar, and hops. Only gluten free beer I have found that comes in a can. 6-pack about $11. Has a bit of a citrus taste.

From Europe

Green Beers - 4 different flavors, come in 22 ounce bottles. Between $6 - $10 per bottle. Pricey, but good.

St. Peters - have 1 gluten free beers and other non-gluten free beers. Did not like this beer.

2 other beers that are made with barley, but are certified as less than 20 ppm.

From Spain - Estrella Damm Daura. My wife likes it and she is not celiac.

Warrensville, IL - Prairie Path Golden Ale, by Two Brothers. 6-pack costs $8 - $12. Tastes like normal beer and my wife likes it also.

Hope you can find these beers. Have fun sampling!

Woody

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just a reminder, as we have discussed many times, Estrella Damm Daura is made from barley and may or may not have gluten in it. The US Alcohol and Tobacco Agency has said it cannot be labelled gluten-free in the US.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.