Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Oops, Read The Label Even On Liquid Stevia
0

14 posts in this topic

I have been using flavored liquid stevia on occassion. I was having company and thought perhaps that I would use up some I don't eat anymore that has vanilla. I poured in the 1/2 tsp. Just after I did so I realized that in the 4 or so months since going gluten free I had never read the label. But it was after all just stevia, but stevia is a leaf and this is a liquid. There must be something else in it. I read it. Discovery time: There were natural flavorings in it. = wheat.

I checked the clear stevia which I have been using for my shakes and buckwheat cereal. Gasp the same. Then my husband discovered another brand in the refrigerater. Once again "natural flavorings".

If someone knows of stevia that does not include natural flavorings let me know. I do like the liquids best. It never seems to give me the bitter flavor.

Always read the label.

Diana

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Natural flavorings does not mean wheat. In the US, they must declare wheat if that is an ingredient.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

"Natural flavoring" is USUALLY carried on corn. That's why Stevia is no good for folks with corn intolerance.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Corn is a not for me (and many) too. I will check up on natural flavoring, because I was told it has gluten. Oh, I guess that is the difference. For me I am not to have any grain. I know corn has gluten, because we have used corn gluten to keep the weeds down in the garden.

Bartful, please explain "Carried on Corn."

Please also explain. that Stevia is not good for Celiacs. I can grow stevia plant out in my garden, grind it, and consume it. Were you, by chance thinking of xylitol?

Diana

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

OK, picture pure "flavoring". It doesn't take much. In order to put it into a food you must have enough of it to "spread around" evenly in that food. If you just put a drop into each item it will be concentrated in the area you dropped it in and won't be evenly distributed. So they usually put it in corn starch and those now flavored grains of corn starch CAN be evenly mixed into whatever food they are flavoring.

Xylitol is a no-no for corn intolerant people too, but because Stevia does have "natural flavoring", and because natural flavoring usually IS carried on corn, most corn intolerant folks avoid it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




I know corn has gluten, because we have used corn gluten to keep the weeds down in the garden.

All grains have "gluten". Celiacs misuse that term when we are only referring to wheat, rye & barley. Corn gluten, rice gluten, etc are all safe for someone with Celiac. It is possible to have an issue with another food like corn or even bananas, that doesn't not mean they have the gluten that causes a Celiac reaction.

Please read the safe and unsafe food lists on this site. That might help you understand what has gluten and what doesn't.

http://www.celiac.com/categories/Safe-Gluten%252dFree-Food-List-%7B47%7D-Unsafe-Foods-%26amp%3B-Ingredients/

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have used PURE stevia in baking. I am a celiac who gets sick rapidly and for weeks if gluten is involved in any way.

"natural flavoring" does NOT necessarily mean wheat, corn, soy.

Pure Stevia--does not contain gluten.

Pure Stevia---is not made from corn.

It is an herb.

http://www.stevia.com/Stevia_Article/Frequently_asked_questions_FAQ/2269

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

SOME Stevia does have corn in it. The stuff in packets at coffee shops has corn to keep it from clumping. And SOME stevia has corn from ethanol which is used in extracting it from the leaf.

From Wiki: Rebaudioside A has the least bitterness of all the steviol glycosides in the stevia plant. To produce rebaudioside A commercially, stevia plants are dried and subjected to a water extraction process. This crude extract contains about 50% rebaudioside A; its various glycoside molecules are separated via crystallization techniques, typically using ethanol or methanol as solvent. This allows the manufacturer to isolate pure rebaudioside A

Granted, it won't bother most people, but those who are sensitive to corn really should avoid it unless like Diana, they grow their own.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Some, no, a lot of the stevia brands I have seen for sale are carrying a "gluten free" label somewhere. I think some of the manufacturers are aware of the coincidence that the sugar avoiding people can also be the gluten avoiding people. You can go to their websites or contact them, and see what the carrier liquid or powdered fiber is made out of. (if I was trying to avoid corn, I'd think I'd just tear my hair out at this point :rolleyes: ) I've seen plain stevia in the health food stores, also, in the form of this powder you are supposed to serve in itty bitty measures.

Since I am the person who keeps pointing out that there is a labeling loophole with these natural flavorings labels, USDA vs. FDA, just be aware that you still can have gluten free AND natural flavorings in the same item, if the manufacturer is on the up and up. We who are more sensitive to mystery ingredients just have to be more careful and do a bit more research on some items.

An example of natural flavorings labels gone awry lately, was with those Starbucks strawberry- flavored fancy drinks not really being vegan, because they used cochineal, which is red dye made from insects, which upset some people, so they are phasing it out. Of course, cochineal is also used in a lot of cosmetics, and to some people, this matters, and they prefer to use vegan cosmetics, others probably don't really want to know what is in that blush. I just don't want my lipstick or balm to have gluten. :P

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

OK, picture pure "flavoring". It doesn't take much. In order to put it into a food you must have enough of it to "spread around" evenly in that food. If you just put a drop into each item it will be concentrated in the area you dropped it in and won't be evenly distributed. So they usually put it in corn starch and those now flavored grains of corn starch CAN be evenly mixed into whatever food they are flavoring.

Xylitol is a no-no for corn intolerant people too, but because Stevia does have "natural flavoring", and because natural flavoring usually IS carried on corn, most corn intolerant folks avoid it.

Thank you.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I only "Cook from scratch". I always thought that Salt, and other simple items would only have what is in the bold print. Hopefully, I woke up to this now.

Karen, I will have a look, or print of the lists of watch out fors.

DIana

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I use packets of "Stevia in the Raw", a powdered stevia. It contains dextrose and stevia leaf extract. Each little packet states "Naturally Gluten Free Food". This product also comes in bulk form, which I think is also gluten free, although I have not used it nor looked at the package in awhile. I believe instead of dextrose it contains maltodextrin, which is also gluten free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I use packets of "Stevia in the Raw", a powdered stevia. It contains dextrose and stevia leaf extract. Each little packet states "Naturally Gluten Free Food". This product also comes in bulk form, which I think is also gluten free, although I have not used it nor looked at the package in awhile. I believe instead of dextrose it contains maltodextrin, which is also gluten free.

Thanks,

I have purchased the green form of stevia. Perhaps next year I can plant it in the garden. I have made other attempts at that. Anyway, since I purchased the green form I very rarely use it. Maybe I can do without?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

starbucks is now using tomato extract for the coloring... <_<

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,697
    • Total Posts
      921,781
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • It only takes a minute to make a difference. Celiac disease has been overshadowed by the gluten-free diet fad. Getting diagnosed and staying healthy is no piece of cake – those of us who have celiac disease struggle to stay healthy. We need better. We need to be understood. We need a cure. View the full article
    • If you are one of the approximately 2-3 million Americans with celiac disease, ZyGluten™ may be taken before you eat out at a restaurant or a friend\'s house, as it may help break down any gluten cross-contamination that you might encounter. View the full article
    • Advil (ibuprofen) is gluten-free, but can be a stomach irritant, especially if taken on an empty stomach. That said, I will also place my bet on the garlic and onions. As Raven said, eating more than once a day may also help. An empty stomach is likely to be an irritable stomach.
    • Another link: http://naldc.nal.usda.gov/download/7351/PDF
    • Thanks for posting.  I know it is difficult to talk about these sorts of things even on a webforum.  It is good thing for people to be aware though about celiac disease and that it can cause mental problems.  Gluten can cause brain damage and it can cause anxiety. If the brain does heal it may take a long time. I know that gluten can cause anxiety and obsessive thoughts.  My experience has been similar to your experience. When I first quit eating gluten I had a similar constant loop and strong negative feelings. There are lots of people on this forum who get anxiety when they eat gluten. Some people also experience gluten withdrawl where they experience anxiety after giving up gluten. It can take a long time for the body to heal and for obsessive thoughts to go away.
       It is normal for people to socialize with each other and to be comfortable about it. You said you have problems still socializing and being around people. It might be a depressing thought but it sounds to me like you still have problems with anxiety.  I would recommend considering what options you have available to treat the anxiety. When I quit eating Gluten I still had some symptoms, even though I felt much better. I have been slowly recovering over a period of about three years. I had obsessive thoughts even after I quit eating gluten.  Now I very rarely if at all think about those things. My experience is that my mind would latch on to certain things that caused me anxiety and focus on those things. Sometimes my focus would shift and I would latch onto other things. My ability to socialize has also improved greatly with time. I have made some dietary changes which I believe have helped greatly. It sounds to me like you have obsessive thoughts about things and maybe some brain damage. My experience has been that my obsessive thoughts about different things went away with time. I feel my obsessive thoughts were caused by gluten and not by what people did around me or any events. As my brain healed I became more self aware and things became less stressful.  I can't give medical advice on this forum but I can talk about my current diet and my experience with celiac disease. My experience with gluten is different from a lot of other people so it is a good idea to ask other people and to talk to a doctor.  I avoid oats and avoid almost all processed foods. I buy certified gluten free food. I eat healthy and I exercise every day. I take st John's Wort as I have read studies that say it may be as effective as some other anti-depressants for treating certain types of anxiety. It is available over the counter. I started with a small dosage and then stepped it up over time. I think it helps a lot.  This is also something that you should talk to a doctor about first. https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Martin_Mahoney2/publication/7426926_St._John's_wort/links/540d8acc0cf2f2b29a386673.pdf A lot of people with celiac disease have vitamin deficiencies.  Vitamin b deficiency can cause anxiety. Some people do not process the synthetic form of vitamin b (from normal pills)  very well, and do better on an activated form of vitamin b. I take:
      1 activated vitamin b12 daily
      1 activated vitamin b6 every once in a while. 1 regular vitamin b multivitamin
      1 magnesium pill every day.
      St Johns Wort daily.
      1 zinc vitamin daily
      I drink lots of Chamomile tea and decaf coffee. I avoid most caffeine. 
      I think each of these helps lower my anxiety level.  I eat fruit with every meal. Canned fruit from walmart is cheap and good for you. I eat salad and and vegetables and avoid dairy.  I eat frozen fish often as it has healthy proteins. Eating healthy is very important. I eat potatoes and rice. http://www.livestrong.com/article/454179-what-is-methyl-b12/ I avoid eating soy sauce, soy, cheese, aged meats and fermented foods (I do drink certain types of alcohol in moderate amounts.) These foods contain lots of Tyramine. I might (or might not) have "monoaine oxidase deficiency" and if so high Tyramine foods should be avoided.  I thought I might have problems with elevated ammonia in my blood, but I am not convinced of that anymore. I limited my consumption of meat for a while as well as dairy but I am not sure if i helped.  I have heard that Celiac disease can effect other organs besides the brain and those organs can have an effect on the brain.  My current diet is working so I am going to stick with it for now. I try not to worry about things that are outside of my control. Be patient as it took me a long time to recover.  Let me know if you have any questions. There is a lot of information on this site and people who are willing to help.
       
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,702
    • Most Online
      3,093

    Newest Member
    Gigi Fagon
    Joined