This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Help Celiac.com:
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Son Has Acid Reflux

Lisserg04

Lisserg04 Newbie

My son was diagnosed with acid reflux when he was 3. He is now 11. Dr had told me that he should outgrow it but never has. Actually it has slowly gotten worse. He is now taking and over the counter once a day acid reducer. He is very active and plays school/city sports always. Sometimes after his games are over he complains of his reflux bothering him to the point of sometimes throwing up and having diarrhea. After that he does feel better. My question here is...Is it possible that maybe all this time he has really had Celiac? I am new to this after coming to the realization that I too may have it. But my symptoms are very different. Has anyone else had a child with reflux and it really be Celiac? And what do I do?

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

beebs Enthusiast

One of my main symptoms was really bad GERD, so yes, it can be a symptom of Celiac. I think you should get him tested.

Darn210 Enthusiast