Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Dang! Tomato Paste


  • Please log in to reply

24 replies to this topic

#1 gatita

 
gatita

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 382 posts
 

Posted 06 September 2012 - 06:35 PM

I am just recently diagnosed and 6 weeks gluten-free, so I am still learning. My friend's homemade soup last night made me soooo sick so she fished the can out of the garbage and there it was, right on the label: "wheat gluten."

I couldn't believe it! I thought I was a hard-core label checker, but didn't think to bug her about tomato paste after she told me she hadn't used any bullion.

I checked Contadina's website for their "Italian paste with Italian Herbs," and there it is in the ingredient list.

So I'm gonna be sick for another day or two :(

Who knew?
  • 0

Diagnosed with wheat hates me 4/13


Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 kareng

 
kareng

    HO! HO! HO!

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,318 posts
 

Posted 06 September 2012 - 06:45 PM

Crazy, ain't it?


"Ingredients List:
Tomato Puree (Tomato Paste, Water), High Fructose Corn Syrup, Salt, Dried Onions, Partially Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil (Soybean And/Or Cottonseed), Spices, Hydrolyzed Corn Gluten, Soy & Wheat Gluten Proteins, Grated Romano Cheese Made From Cow's Milk (Cultured Milk, Salt, Enzymes), Garlic, Citric Acid, Yeast, Soy Flour. Contains Soybeans, Wheat, Milk."


http://contadina.com...lian-herbs.aspx
  • 0

santa-dance.gif

 

Once again, we come to the Holiday Season, a deeply religious time that each of us observes, in his own way, by going to the mall of his choice. - Dave Barry
 
“The main reason Santa is so jolly is because he knows where all the bad girls live.”  - George Carlin
 
“One can never have enough socks," said Dumbledore. "Another Christmas has come and gone and I didn't get a single pair. People will insist on giving me books.”  - J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and The Sorcerer's Stone
 
 
 
 
 

 


#3 Lisa

 
Lisa

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,802 posts
 

Posted 06 September 2012 - 06:52 PM

That sucks! I grab Hunt's off the shelf without even reading the label. I trust them, but this serves as a reminder for ME to always check and re-check labels. (When I do buy a different brand, I always do read the ingredients )

Hope you won't feel too badly. :)
  • 0
Lisa

Gluten Free - August 15, 2004

"Not all who wander are lost" - JRR Tolkien

#4 psawyer

 
psawyer

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,070 posts
 

Posted 06 September 2012 - 07:21 PM

So, to be clear, we are not actually talking about something labeled simply as "Tomato Paste."

We are talking about a certain brand of tomato product described as "Italian Paste with Italian Herbs.

That doesn't sound the same to me. I expect "Tomato Paste" to not have herbs and other things added. To me, this is a quite different product--which happens to have tomato paste as one of the ingredients. It does use the words "Tomato Paste" as part of the label description.

I don't even see the "herbs" in the ingredient list, unless they are hidden in "spices." There are a lot things in there that are neither herbs nor tomatoes: cheese, garlic, onions, salt, corn syrup, yeast, soy flour, etc. This is clearly not ordinary tomato paste.

Does anyone know of a product that is described just as "Tomato Paste" that has anything other than tomatoes and possibly water? I don't.
  • 0
Peter
Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000.
Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986
Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

#5 tarnalberry

 
tarnalberry

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,542 posts
 

Posted 06 September 2012 - 07:52 PM

Peter, to be fair, this is one that can throw you, and it IS labeled tomato paste. Look at the cans, they look EXCEPTIONALLY similar (though different) and I don't think you'd first expect the ingredient list to be so different between the two of them. This is a reason to be very critical (in the "observant") sense of what we buy.

Regular tomato paste:
Posted Image

Italian Herb tomato paste:
Posted Image

When you compare that to a number of similar products in the same aisle - specifically the other preparations of canned tomatoes (stewed, diced, sauce, etc.) - that DO have "with italian herbs" and other such labels and really do have just herbs added... Well, I think that it's a pretty easy mistake to make if you haven't yet convinced yourself not to assume ANYTHING.
  • 0
Tiffany aka "Have I Mentioned Chocolate Lately?"
Inconclusive Blood Tests, Positive Dietary Results, No Endoscopy
G.F. - September 2003; C.F. - July 2004
Hiker, Yoga Teacher, Engineer, Painter, Be-er of Me
Bellevue, WA

#6 psawyer

 
psawyer

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,070 posts
 

Posted 06 September 2012 - 08:26 PM

Tiffany, thank you for the photos. The appearance is very similar, even though the products are very different. Bah! "Tomato Paste product with Italian Herbs is in small print. :angry:
  • 0
Peter
Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000.
Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986
Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

#7 gatita

 
gatita

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 382 posts
 

Posted 06 September 2012 - 10:29 PM

Thanks, those photos really show it...

Yes, as you suggest Peter, I expect tomato paste to be made of something simple, like, oh, tomatoes and salt. Never heard of "tomato paste product." Silly me.

Live and learn. I'm hurting and the intestinal "gurgles" were so loud today, I had to walk out of work till they settled down! This from one bowl of soup. Sigh.
  • 0

Diagnosed with wheat hates me 4/13


#8 Takala

 
Takala

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,555 posts
 

Posted 06 September 2012 - 11:38 PM

Wheat ...... is not an herb. It is not an Italian herb, either.

That was my brand of tomato paste until they started doing that. I think they've managed to increase the number of ingredients to "Frankenstein's bride's made status," since the last time I looked at the label. It is just easier to train the spouse to select another brand which is less likely to be booby-trapped. I still have to read all the labels, but it's less likely to make it past the cash register and then into the pantry. But he has tried picking that up a time or two, and I caught it. I've accidentally picked it up, and put it right back on the shelf.

As someone who has been making traditional spaghetti sauce for decades, recipe from my mother who learned it from her Italian neighbors as a young adult, that mish- mash of cottonseed oil is so deeply offensive... corn syrup... soybeans... in pasta sauce.... that is so gross. And then the wheat in it. <_<
  • 0

#9 gatita

 
gatita

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 382 posts
 

Posted 21 September 2012 - 09:12 PM

And by the way, I just found out it's not only that Contadina product. My friend checked other "tomato paste" in her cupboard and the ingredients were almost the same. This time it was one of those off-label cheap-o brands called Western Family. No "Italian herbs" but yes wheat gluten.:(
  • 0

Diagnosed with wheat hates me 4/13


#10 mbrookes

 
mbrookes

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 666 posts
 

Posted 28 September 2012 - 07:11 PM

The lesson here is read the labels. I recently picked up a can of turnip greens, got home and read the label. Yep. Wheat. Why is wheat in turnip greens? Or roasted peanuts? Or a host of other things. That is why we have to read the labels, always.
  • 0

#11 Juliebove

 
Juliebove

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,650 posts
 

Posted 28 September 2012 - 10:44 PM

I rarely buy tomato paste. Unless I need a larger amount for a recipe, I just use a tube of stuff imported from Italy. Since I use so little, I usually wind up throwing it out and replacing it every couple of years. I do not buy the tomato products from Trader Joe's or the Walmart brand because they are on shared lines with a lot of things we can't have. I believe wheat or gluten is among those things.
  • 0

#12 Linda422

 
Linda422

    New Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
 

Posted 11 October 2012 - 05:45 AM

If I read this right then your saying that I can't use tomato paste? Very new to this.
  • 0

#13 IrishHeart

 
IrishHeart

    Warrior Princess

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,558 posts
 

Posted 11 October 2012 - 05:52 AM

If I read this right then your saying that I can't use tomato paste? Very new to this.



No hon, if you read the entire discussion,
you would have seen that SOME tomato pastes MADE WITH ITALIAN HERBS contain wheat (not sure why they do, but that's another story)

Tomato paste, in general, does not. I use Hunt's tomato paste all the time- no problem.

Checking the label is always a good idea.

Hope this clears it up for you?
Welcome to the forum!
  • 0

"Life is not the way it's supposed to be. It's the way it is. The way we cope with it makes the difference." Virginia Satir

"The strongest of all warriors are these two - time and patience." Leo Tolstoy

"If you want to lift yourself up, lift up someone else" Booker T. Washington

“If idiots could fly, the sky would be like an airport.”― Laura Davenport 

"Do or do not. There is no try. "-  Yoda.

"LTES"  Gem 2014

 

Misdiagnosed for 25+ years; Finally Diagnosed with Celiac  11/01/10.  Double DQ2 genes. This thing tried to kill me. I view Celiac as a fire breathing dragon --and I have run my sword right through his throat.
I. Win. bliss-smiley-emoticon.gif


#14 Linda422

 
Linda422

    New Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
 

Posted 12 October 2012 - 04:52 AM

No hon, if you read the entire discussion,
you would have seen that SOME tomato pastes MADE WITH ITALIAN HERBS contain wheat (not sure why they do, but that's another story)

Tomato paste, in general, does not. I use Hunt's tomato paste all the time- no problem.

Checking the label is always a good idea.

Hope this clears it up for you?
Welcome to the forum!

Thank you so much it did help. I want to make my own sauce so I know what in it. Still have brain frog.
  • 0

#15 IrishHeart

 
IrishHeart

    Warrior Princess

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,558 posts
 

Posted 12 October 2012 - 05:17 AM

Thank you so much it did help. I want to make my own sauce so I know what in it. Still have brain frog.



I know this is just a typo and you're understandably fatigued, but I cannot resist..."brain frog". :)

Linda, welcome to the family. We ALL had brain frogs.

( and sometimes, they return)

You're going to be okay, hon!
  • 0

"Life is not the way it's supposed to be. It's the way it is. The way we cope with it makes the difference." Virginia Satir

"The strongest of all warriors are these two - time and patience." Leo Tolstoy

"If you want to lift yourself up, lift up someone else" Booker T. Washington

“If idiots could fly, the sky would be like an airport.”― Laura Davenport 

"Do or do not. There is no try. "-  Yoda.

"LTES"  Gem 2014

 

Misdiagnosed for 25+ years; Finally Diagnosed with Celiac  11/01/10.  Double DQ2 genes. This thing tried to kill me. I view Celiac as a fire breathing dragon --and I have run my sword right through his throat.
I. Win. bliss-smiley-emoticon.gif





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: