Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Modified corn starch?


  • Please log in to reply

3 replies to this topic

#1 Christine1109

 
Christine1109

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
 

Posted 08 September 2012 - 05:34 PM

I've been reading a lot about gluten-free since I'm a newly diagnosed Celiac & I've read that "modified corn starch" & "other natural ingredients" could contain gluten.
  • 0

Lupus (2001)
Celiac (07/2012)
Gilbert's (07/2012)
GLUTEN FREE (07/2012)..... Lots to learn!!

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 Lisa

 
Lisa

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,802 posts
 

Posted 08 September 2012 - 06:09 PM

I've been reading a lot about gluten-free since I'm a newly diagnosed Celiac & I've read that "modified corn starch" & "other natural ingredients" could contain gluten.

No, and Welcome!

In the US, any ingredient containing wheat will be required to be disclosed.

Modified Corn Starch is gluten free. No wheat involved.

And any natural ingredient, if involved wheat, by law should be listed. If you don't see it, it's not in there.

We have had and increase of members, who are ADDITIONALLY intolerant to corn, post. Generally, most people with Celiac, do not have issues with corn.
  • 0
Lisa

Gluten Free - August 15, 2004

"Not all who wander are lost" - JRR Tolkien

#3 kareng

 
kareng

    HO! HO! HO!

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,318 posts
 

Posted 08 September 2012 - 06:16 PM

I agree with Lisa. Now this applies to the US and Canada.. If you live in a more exotic locale, the rules could be different.

Look at some of these lists. Of course, we can't list everyting that is safe or the list would be too long...bananas, oranges, white rice, brown rice, etc.

http://www.celiac.co...-&-Ingredients/
  • 0

santa-dance.gif

 

Once again, we come to the Holiday Season, a deeply religious time that each of us observes, in his own way, by going to the mall of his choice. - Dave Barry
 
“The main reason Santa is so jolly is because he knows where all the bad girls live.”  - George Carlin
 
“One can never have enough socks," said Dumbledore. "Another Christmas has come and gone and I didn't get a single pair. People will insist on giving me books.”  - J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and The Sorcerer's Stone
 
 
 
 
 

 


#4 Carmen13

 
Carmen13

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
 

Posted 11 September 2012 - 07:47 AM

I agree with Lisa. Now this applies to the US and Canada.. If you live in a more exotic locale, the rules could be different.

Look at some of these lists. Of course, we can't list everyting that is safe or the list would be too long...bananas, oranges, white rice, brown rice, etc.

http://www.celiac.co...-&-Ingredients/



How often are theses gluten safe/unsafe food lists updated? I've looked it over, but it was first published in 2007 and I know some guidelines on food labeling have changed since then.
  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: