14 replies to this topic

#1 SwtRandi

SwtRandi

New Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts

Posted 10 September 2012 - 05:21 AM

I am new to this and the other day my boyfriend and I went to Taco Bell. I got 2 hard shell tacos with beans instead of meat. I assumed (I know I know) the hard shells would be corn and fine to eat. Then out of curiosity I looked on the website. It says tostadas are safe, but hard shell tacos are not?! Why is that?! Is it because of the beef? However, I had it with beans...maybe different?! Help!! I have done so good on the gluten-free diet that I don't want to mess up over 2 Taco Bell tacos :(

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 kareng

kareng

HO! HO! HO!

• Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,318 posts

Posted 10 September 2012 - 05:29 AM

Never assume ingredients. Taco Bell has almost nothing listed as gluten-free. It is unlikely the employees know what is in the food either.

Always keep something with you. Maybe in your purse or car for times when you are really hungry. A Lara bar/gluten-free granola/gfprotein bar, package of nuts, etc. That way you won't make these mistakes.

Some people print off what is gluten-free at various fast food places and keep it in the car. Then if they get stuck with nothing to eat, they look at the Wendy's page and see they can have a baked potato with chili on it and a Frosty.

santa-dance.gif

Once again, we come to the Holiday Season, a deeply religious time that each of us observes, in his own way, by going to the mall of his choice. - Dave Barry

“The main reason Santa is so jolly is because he knows where all the bad girls live.”  - George Carlin

“One can never have enough socks," said Dumbledore. "Another Christmas has come and gone and I didn't get a single pair. People will insist on giving me books.”  - J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and The Sorcerer's Stone

#3 SwtRandi

SwtRandi

New Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts

Posted 10 September 2012 - 05:41 AM