Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Alcohol
0

9 posts in this topic

Hello, I am 25 years old and do not have any children. I like to have drinks with my friends on occasion. Vodka has always been my drink of choice. I know that some vodkas are distilled with wheat so I obviously stay away from them. Since i've been diagnosed I have been drinking corn distilled vodkas. I do have sensitivity to corn but was still able to drink this vodka. However I have noticed lately that I have been having symptoms similar to gluten or my sensitivities when drinking. So I am just trying to figure out what I can drink. I have a problem with gluten, potatos, and corn. What alcohol can I drink? Keep in mind that I live in a small town and options that may be available in a big city may not be available here.

I don't drink all of the time but when there is a party going on I already have enough problems not being able to eat any of the food! lol I would like to be able to have a couple drinks and relax!

Let me know what you think :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Most people can drink distilled alcohol, even when based on wheat, rye or barley.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Even though they are made from wheat, they are distilled, and they distillation process takes all the gluten out of the alcohol. This is of course only for hard alcohol, not beer. You may just not react well to alcohol in general. I am also 25 years old and have just figured out that I am sensitive to sulfates, so I can't drink wine or cider now. I also make sure to stay away from cheap liquors, no well liquors at all. The lowest quality I go with is Smirnoff. I still get headaches, but not as much. I just may have a problem with alcohol in general, (and no, not in the alcoholic way, lol). All I can say is process of elimination.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There are sugarcane based vodkas like Ciroc.

Rum is sugarcane based. Be careful of flavored ones.

I like hard apple or pear cider - Wyder's or Strongbow are my favorites. Hornsby's wasn't considered gluten-free but for some reason I think that has changed? Look it up.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Good tequila is made from agave.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




I personally don't think that distilled alcohols are safe. Every different brand of vodka tastes different because of what's in there besides just the alcohol and water, even while they're all distilled. Hard alcohols do get distilled, but they get stuff added back into them, stuff which could be separated off if they wanted to, but often they don't because it's part of the flavor of that particular drink. I fully get that distillation, if done properly, would remove anything remotely resembling gluten. But vodka isn't distilled ethanol you'd use in a lab, and neither is any other commerical drinking alcohol.

I haven't sorted it all out yet, but I seem to only get sick when I drink out, mainly feels like a hangover even though I'll have not had much. And I drink at home still without any unexpected reactions. Currently I think it's CC. I'm not sure if bartenders rinse the shot glass they use for measuring alcohol. I certainly don't recall ever seeing anyone rinsing anything. Of course I've also stopped drinking all gluten-sourced hard alcohols, mainly because I've just heard of too many people having reactions to them, so I don't even have that to go by.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If your drink is mixed with any kind of soda at a bar, they get that soda from the "gun". All of the different sodas go through the same lines so if any of them are unsafe, all of them are CC'd.

I don't even know if sodas have gluten because I don't drink soda - first of all because I don't like them, and second of all because they are all sweetened with high frutose corn syrup. I have problems with corn anyway, and high fructose corn syrup is bad for anyone in my opinion.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm not a drinker but I too react to sulphites. Good news is there are wines made without sulphites.. Frey Vineyards is one but many others...Ciroc vodka is very good, mixed with white grape juice.....

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.