This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Where Your Contribution Counts!
    eNewsletter
    Support Us!

Comically Bad, Slow Bread

Takala

Takala Enthusiast

(Preface. For the newer reader, I am not a gluten free baking newbie. I am not even a baking newbie. :P I made my own bread even before all this, and didn't have any trouble during the transition, and I was using nuts at first. )

I awoke very early this morning, and decided to bake some bread in my brand new, pretty, oval shaped stoneware baking dish, which matches the dish I already have, and that I got so I could make 2 loaves at once.

I have been making this recipe for several months now. I take a box of Chebe, add some more gluten free, high protein flour and an extra egg and some oil to it, a bit of baking soda and vinegar, and bake it. I have made breads, biscuits, little buns, and sandwich rolls, and it always came out.

Like Pioneer Tapioca Girl with Electricity, before dawn, I take the home- ground buckwheat flour out of the refrigerator and start to soak it in a bit of yogurt and water, add chia and amaranth, some salt. After making a cup of coffee, as the sky begins to lighten, I then add the cheese I have grated by hand on the box grater (PTGwE does not use a food processor ;) ) that is missing its handle ("thrifty is as thrifty does") and the eggs and the oil, the vinegar, the pinch of cumin, the baking soda, a little bit of water, and an ear of grated fresh corn and the Chebe mix. And I hand stir this concoction until it is nice and mixed up, no electric mixer for me. Between the chia, the amaranth, and the buckwheat, it is plenty sticky, without the gum.