Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  

Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:

Ads by Google:

Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Profession Change?

7 posts in this topic

Hi all,I am new to this forum and not sure where to post. I have been gluten free for a little over a month and am still feeling poorly. I am wondering if my profession is contributing; I am a cook who scratch bakes at least twice daily and most often three times. I am very diligent about not tasting what I am cooking but I am still getting the horribly itchy bumpy rash on my arms and hands. I have not done anything career-wise except cook and I am worried that I might need to change what I do. The itching is unbearable. Has anyone else found that skin contact causes problems?

Ads by Google:

Hi all,I am new to this forum and not sure where to post. I have been gluten free for a little over a month and am still feeling poorly. I am wondering if my profession is contributing; I am a cook who scratch bakes at least twice daily and most often three times. I am very diligent about not tasting what I am cooking but I am still getting the horribly itchy bumpy rash on my arms and hands. I have not done anything career-wise except cook and I am worried that I might need to change what I do. The itching is unbearable. Has anyone else found that skin contact causes problems?

Hmmm. Wondering if there might be a new post for you at an up-and-coming gluten free restaurant?!

Yes, those of us with DH (which it sounds like you may have?), generally want to avoid topical gluten. For most of us that means no shampoo or hand lotion with wheat, gluten or oats, but having your hands in it all day would qualify. Is it possible to wear rubber gloves, and perhaps look for work some place that does gluten-free baking?

I would never take up a job where I would be baking with glutinous flours, and I don't have a topical reaction to gluten.