Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Sushi Rice Sometimes Not Gluten Free
0

5 posts in this topic

I knew this was a questionable area and haven't located an exact answer on the forum here, but I just found out a little bit more tonight at a sushi restaurant in Bellevue, WA.

Awhile ago, I discovered there is a rice vinegar that contains a gluten ingredient. I can't seem to find that now, but will keep looking.

In the meantime, this restaurant wouldn't let me get nigiri sushi (on rice) because they use mirin to make the rice. I can't find a mirin with gluten in it so far, but what they told me is that they cut it with soy sauce (or it comes that way?). It gives it more flavor and mirin is expensive, so it reduces cost. The manager said 99 percent of sushi restaurants use mirin and not rice vinegar. I'm not sure that's accurate, but it gives me pause and it explains why some people get sick when they eat sushi.

I don't know if that means they always cut mirin with soy sauce, but I found evidence of this method with this recipe here: http://www.streetdirectory.com/food_editorials/cuisines/asian_food/how_to_make_inari_sushi_at_home.html

(oops. Correction. This recipe is not for sushi rice, so I'll still be looking for more evidence that this is the case)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Ah, here we go. This mirin has fermented wheat protein as an ingredient. (You have to click on the 'nutritional info' link to see the ingredients)

It doesn't indicate why theirs has soy sauce in it, but it's some evidence that it exists. I'm glad I finally found this. Another restaurant showed me this before and a the time I didn't know what mirin was so I couldn't find it again...

http://www.asianfoodgrocer.com/product/kikkoman-kotterin-10-fz#nutrTarget

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That Kikkoman product is not real mirin. It says mirin style seasoning. The first ingredient is corn. Mirin is made from rice. For example this Eden Foods brand is "mirin." Of course the question is what a restaurant uses. If a restaurant is using the "mirin style" then they are clearly cutting corners and are not a quality Japanese place!

http://www.edenfoods.com/store/product_info.php?products_id=109780

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's true that a nice restaurant wouldn't use that 'mirin style' stuff. This restaurant is one of the nicer ones around and they use mirin to season their rice, but they cut it with soy sauce. Another restaurant I was at a couple years ago told me the brand of the rice vinegar they use (and it was a nice place as well), but that brand of rice vinegar had either wheat or barley in it. I can't recall that one. I wouldn't be so sure nice restaurants don't cut corners to save money... particularly ones that are going out of their way to make sure they have amazing fresh fish. I wouldn't expect a nice place to use this mirin style stuff, but for me, it was just evidence that there is wheat sometimes in these products... this one obviously has corn in it and is garbage.

I was hoping for more detailed info from others who have talked to restaurants about their rice vinegar.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I hate sushi places that serve not-real sushi.

Heck, mirin is not all that hard to MAKE.

(We got to a little hole-in-the-wall place on 112th and 12th, just across from the library. It's GREAT!)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,115
    • Total Posts
      919,447
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Well, you can probably get an apple or something.  You might be able to get someone to boil you some eggs.  But be careful of things like nuts that should be naturally gluten free.  They have almost always been soaked in a flavor solution that usually containes caramel coloring, "soy" (wheat) sauce and other aditives.  If I am really hungry and must eat in a Chinese restaurant, I order plain white rice and steamed vegetables.  But even so, you must monitor it carefully.  The rice sometimes has other substances added to give it a better texture, and very often the vegetables have in fact had "just a little bit" of soy sauce added.  To be fair, celiac disease is hardly ever found in East Asians, so understandably people are not tuned it to it.  Also, culturally, with the exception of fruits, it is generally thought that the flavor of foods needs to be enhanced, so it is had to find anything natural even in the "western" gorceries. Even in the western restaurants, be careful.  Fish and meat and often vegetables are usually pre-marinated. I will not even attempt to address the issue of cross-comtamination, since that is a whole higher order of things. I do know what I am talking about; I have celiac and have worked here for nearly 7 years.  
    • I'm glad I found these forums!  I will spend some more time this evening reading through them.  But I wanted to get my question out there just to see if anyone else might have answers quicker than I can sift through the forum for them.      I've been feeling terrible for about a year, and after an elimination diet last month, figured out that if nothing else, gluten/wheat is a problem.  After lots of research, I abandoned the elimination diet and added gluten back in, so that I could get tested for Celiac.   I was off gluten for 3 weeks, from mid-June until early July.  I've had it back in my diet for almost 3 weeks now.    My question is this: Since I was off gluten for 3 weeks, and now back on for almost 3, is that enough time on to yield a positive Celiac blood test, if that indeed is what I have?  All the research I've done says 4-6 weeks for a gluten challenge, but is that really necessary if I was only not eating it for 3 weeks?  I am desperate to get this testing done and over with.  I feel terrible all the time and getting through the day is a struggle.  My doctor ran allergy panels already and everything came back clear except for a mild wheat allergy.  So if nothing else, I'll have to give up wheat for sure at the end of all this.  I get the feeling she doesn't know a ton about Celiac though, so I'm doing a lot of the research on my own. Any advice or information would be so appreciated! 
    • Hi Michael, That's quite a spike in blood pressure!  I haven't tested that myself and don't want to if it means I have to eat gluten.  Blood pressure testing to identify food reactions is something that has come up before.  It sounds like it might be possible but I don't know how much study has been done on it.  Probably not much since it is such a simple, straight forward idea. Welcome to the forum!
    • Hi Megan, Did the doctor test you for celiac disease?  You really shouldn't go gluten-free until all the testing for celiac disease is completed.  It is a little odd for a doctor to tell you to go gluten-free for no reason IMHO.  Did he/she explain the reason for it? Personally, I have learned over the years what I can eat safely and what I can't.  Occasionally I get hit but it is rare.  Simplifying your diet is a good first step.  Avoiding processed foods for a while and dairy also is good.  I suggest any change you make last for a month at least. Then try the food again. If you are eating 100 random ingredients/foods each day it is hard to figure these things out.  If you reduce it to a much smaller number of foods then things become simpler. Welcome to the forum!
    • Finally, proof that non-celiac gluten sensitivity is real. ... for the 30 percent of consumers who choose to buy gluten-free products and the 41 percent of ... View the full article
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,154
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    calla84
    Joined