19 replies to this topic

#1 1desperateladysaved

1desperateladysaved

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,169 posts

Posted 28 September 2012 - 05:17 AM

Some foods have controversy about whether a celiac can have them or not. Not many of us have their own labs. I surely don't want to test a food that will do harm. Even experts have conflicting views.

My current thought is this. I am just beginning the healing process at 5 months grain free and 7 months gluten free. I feel I need to be absolutely stringent now. I do not eat many natural foods that bother others. Those I hear of that others have problems with I might eat especially if it is a food that I have not overconsumed. I hope to one day be able to put some things back in. At that point symptom hopefully will be undeniably clear when something amiss is put in. I feel it is alot easier and safer to be really restrictive in the beginning when you can not tell what is going on.

How are others making decisions like this?

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 Jestgar

Jestgar

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,755 posts

Posted 28 September 2012 - 05:31 AM

...You eat anything you want, unless youhave a problem with it, then you stop eating it.

You can't base your food choices on someone else's reactions - we're all too different.
"But then, in all honesty, if scientists don't play god, who will?"
- James Watson

My sources are unreliable, but their information is fascinating.
- Ashleigh Brilliant

Leap, and the net will appear.

#3 GottaSki

GottaSki

"The past is the past...I've got places to be."

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,095 posts

Posted 28 September 2012 - 06:37 AM

What other foods are you eliminating? Did you remove all grains because they were obviously causing problems for you?