Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  

Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:

Ads by Google:

Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Ok, Im Confused.

8 posts in this topic

My dietitian and all I have read says the endoscopy biopsies are required to confirm a celiac disease diagnosis. My GI doctor's office called and said I don't need the endoscopy after the blood test panel confirmed Celiac Disease. They said stay on gluten free (WBOR). I don't go back to see them till Nov. 5th to find out how I am doing.

Confused.

Terry

Ads by Google:

I'm not an expert in the blood tests. The ones developed ten to 15 years ago were not as specific as some available today. There is one (somebody will know which it is) which is highly specific for celiac disease. A positive there is 99% accurate.

My dietitian and all I have read says the endoscopy biopsies are required to confirm a celiac disease diagnosis. My GI doctor's office called and said I don't need the endoscopy after the blood test panel confirmed Celiac Disease. They said stay on gluten free (WBOR). I don't go back to see them till Nov. 5th to find out how I am doing.

Confused.

Terry

If your anti-endomysial antibodes are positive, you can conclude that your diagnosis is Celiac Disease. No biopsy would be needed.

Confused.

Terry

You have a good GI. Follow their advice. Plus if you are already gluten free the biopsy has a good chance of being a false negative.

I hope you heal quickly but for some of us things can be up and down for a bit. Hang in there and ask any questions needed.

Go with what you GI is saying if you are comfortable with that. My youngest son is diagnosed without a scope/biopsy.