Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  

Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:

Ads by Google:

Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Amaranth

4 posts in this topic

I tried a new recipe for chocolate chip cookies about a week ago (http://glutenfreegirl.com/david-leites-chocolate-chip-cookies-gluten-free/- quite good, by the way). I had never had amaranth before but I noticed that I felt kind of sick after I ate them. There's a stomach virus going around, though, and I work in a hospital where I'm exposed to every crud and crap that passes through the community. I figured it was gastroenteritis.

I made the cookies again this evening and lo-and-behold, I'm sick again. Amaranth is the only thing in the recipe that I've never had. It just seems weird because when I tried to look into it, I can't find anyone else reporting a problem with it, it seems pretty non-inflammatory. The amaranth can't be contaminated, it's Bob's Red Mill certified gluten-free etc and my kitchen has been 100% gluten free since I moved in almost a year ago. It's definitely not gluten making me sick though it feels the same- stomach pain, nausea, and my hands are all swollen back up from hive-like rashes (that had gone away when my dermatologist decided to get militant and gave me high dose topical steroids and tacrolimus).

So, now I'm in a bind. The cookies I made are actually for a fundraiser for our farmer's market on Saturday. I feel weird about giving away and selling something that makes me sick but I think it's just me because my fiance has eaten at least a dozen of them (they do taste good) and feels fine. I'm sure there's nothing wrong with the cookies, but I am concerned that if I can't tolerate amaranth, it might make other people sick too and then they'll think I've glutened them.