#1 ChrisRR

ChrisRR

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 05 October 2012 - 12:15 AM

Hi everyone.

First I'd like to say that this site is great for people with gluten intolerance!

But I need some advice on my symptoms and see what other people think.

Now, I am a professional motorcycle road racer in Europe, and for a long time I have had the problem of fatigue, and sometimes diarrhea for unexplained reasons.
In recent years, every time I went running, I felt like I hit the wall after just a few miles. And one I got so bad stomach cramps that I almost couldn't stand up, and then I had to go take care of some business in the woods (very nasty).
And since I was life 13 years old, I can't remember there being 1 month where I didn't have painful stomach cramps and diarrhea at least once.

Anyway, I went to a professional nutritionist, where I filled out tones of forms about what I eat, how I feel when eating certain things etc. And then he made a diet plan where I couldn't eat any types of grain at all.

Then have told me that once a week, at 1 meal I can eat whatever I feel like. So I ate a pizza and had a beer, and when I did, I got stomach pains that lasted 3 days, and my nose closed up while I was eating it.

Anyway, after I started this diet, I have felt quite a bit better when running. My stomach, especially my lower stomach (intestines) seem to be behaving much better than before.

Now, what I am wondering, could this be gluten intolerance, or something else?

This morning I had stomach pain again (for the first time since I started the diet), and I didn't eat any grain or anything in the last few days. However I did have tea with milk, but I have had that several times without any effects.

Does any of this make sense to you guys with celiac? Can you get stomach cramps while your body is healing up. And do any of you every experience stomach pains in the middle of the stomach?

Thanks a lot - hope it makes sense :)

Celiac.com Sponsor: