This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Could A Little Gluten Be Okay For Me?

ramdr

ramdr Newbie

Hello all.I am new to this message board. I have diagnoses of fibromyalgia, chronic fatigue syndrome, and irritable bowel syndrome, but not celiac disease. My doctor suggested I try a gluten free diet, hoping it would help with GI symptoms. I did it for 2 months and my symptoms didn't change, so he felt I wasn't going to get any benefit from it, and I went back to my regular diet. My energy level is pretty low, and it was extra work to stay gluten free. Since then, friends have suggested I try it for a longer period, since there is anecdotal evidence that benefits may take up to 6 months or more to appear. My first question is, does this make sense? Secondly, if I am not noticing any improvement in GI symptoms, and don't have celiac disease, does this mean I probably am not very sensitive to gluten, and therefore don't need to worry about small amounts of gluten, such as "natural flavoring" waydown on the ingredient list?

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

kareng Grand Master

I have a friend with fibro who has been tested and endoscoped many times and does not have Celiac. She was told to go gluten-free for her fibro. She doesn't purposefully eat gluten but will take the croutons out of her salad or not worry that her meat was cooked on a grill with soy sauce on it, etc. Whether that is enough to help, I'm not sure anyone really knows. Maybe the doctor has some research you could read? Or he could explain?

GottaSki Mentor