Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Drinks That Are Okay.
0

12 posts in this topic

I'm trying to start a gluten free diet and meeting with a lot of success. One thing I'm running into though, is lack of confidence in what I can drink. Is soda off limits? I myself don't have celiac but my beloved does and I'm trying to go gluten-free with her, to avoid future complications, and to make the transition easier for her as well. Also, would juice (the frozen canned kind one gets from a grocery store) be alright?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Soda is almost always gluten-free, although there might be something out there. All variations of Coke and Pepsi are definitely gluten-free. I believe that all the other sodas made by those two companies are gluten-free as well. Caramel color does not contain gluten.

Fruit juices, likewise, are usually safe, but there are some exceptions, so be sure to read the ingredients carefully. If I recall, some Minute Maid products contain gluten.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Also, some flavored coffees and teas have it as well.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Things I enjoy are

Foldger coffee

diet Pepsi

teas by Bigelow

White wines

Woodchuck hard cider. The flavor "Fall" is out now and yummy.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for your tips! :)

Me and my beloved are both under legal drinking age so I'm not really worried about alcohol, and we don't plan on drinking at any time in the future, but I have read that in other articles and I appreciate the information provided by everyone ^_^.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Soda is almost always gluten-free, although there might be something out there. All variations of Coke and Pepsi are definitely gluten-free. I believe that all the other sodas made by those two companies are gluten-free as well. Caramel color does not contain gluten.

Fruit juices, likewise, are usually safe, but there are some exceptions, so be sure to read the ingredients carefully. If I recall, some Minute Maid products contain gluten.

Are there any specific ingredients I should look for? I know of a few, but I'm sure there are more than the few that I know of already.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Are there any specific ingredients I should look for? I know of a few, but I'm sure there are more than the few that I know of already.

Try these links for useful information:

Unsafe ingredients.

Safe ingredients.

Here's a list of companies that have a clear gluten policy. If you don't see "wheat, rye, barley, barley malt, oats" on the labels, its not there, or hidden in "flavors, starches, etc."

Always read the label.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I like well or spring water best of all. If it is kept in the refrigerator it is deliciously cool. It is low in sugar (unlike fruit juice) high in hydrating qualities. Herbal tea can be warming on the cool days coming our way. I just use loose leaf to avoid tea bags. I have most recently been really enjoying coconut water that hydrates me better than water. It is also high in potassium and magnesium needed by recovering celiac. I enjoy the taste of it, but if you just expect it to taste like water is better than if you compare it to a sweet drink.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks a lot for the helpful links and the list of ingredients! I've already been on the lookout for whole grain and nearly everything else grain and oats and such. I've been reading labels on just about everything ^_^ also, me and my father went to a little grocery store just off-campus and it has a whole wall devoted to gluten-free stuff :). Great to see that my dietary menu really isn't going to shrink at all. If anything, it'll grow!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The only ones I'm aware of are ones we wouldn't buy anyway like the flavoured coffees, vanilla flavoured milk which contains malt from barley, beer is almost always out, except for a few brands which make gluten free beer. I saw Up n Go are in the fridge section now with the flavoured milks, these contain cereals that contain gluten.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What a loving thing you are doing by going gluten free with her. She is a very lucky lady.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What a loving thing you are doing by going gluten free with her. She is a very lucky lady.

Thank you very much :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,115
    • Total Posts
      919,447
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Well, you can probably get an apple or something.  You might be able to get someone to boil you some eggs.  But be careful of things like nuts that should be naturally gluten free.  They have almost always been soaked in a flavor solution that usually containes caramel coloring, "soy" (wheat) sauce and other aditives.  If I am really hungry and must eat in a Chinese restaurant, I order plain white rice and steamed vegetables.  But even so, you must monitor it carefully.  The rice sometimes has other substances added to give it a better texture, and very often the vegetables have in fact had "just a little bit" of soy sauce added.  To be fair, celiac disease is hardly ever found in East Asians, so understandably people are not tuned it to it.  Also, culturally, with the exception of fruits, it is generally thought that the flavor of foods needs to be enhanced, so it is had to find anything natural even in the "western" gorceries. Even in the western restaurants, be careful.  Fish and meat and often vegetables are usually pre-marinated. I will not even attempt to address the issue of cross-comtamination, since that is a whole higher order of things. I do know what I am talking about; I have celiac and have worked here for nearly 7 years.  
    • I'm glad I found these forums!  I will spend some more time this evening reading through them.  But I wanted to get my question out there just to see if anyone else might have answers quicker than I can sift through the forum for them.      I've been feeling terrible for about a year, and after an elimination diet last month, figured out that if nothing else, gluten/wheat is a problem.  After lots of research, I abandoned the elimination diet and added gluten back in, so that I could get tested for Celiac.   I was off gluten for 3 weeks, from mid-June until early July.  I've had it back in my diet for almost 3 weeks now.    My question is this: Since I was off gluten for 3 weeks, and now back on for almost 3, is that enough time on to yield a positive Celiac blood test, if that indeed is what I have?  All the research I've done says 4-6 weeks for a gluten challenge, but is that really necessary if I was only not eating it for 3 weeks?  I am desperate to get this testing done and over with.  I feel terrible all the time and getting through the day is a struggle.  My doctor ran allergy panels already and everything came back clear except for a mild wheat allergy.  So if nothing else, I'll have to give up wheat for sure at the end of all this.  I get the feeling she doesn't know a ton about Celiac though, so I'm doing a lot of the research on my own. Any advice or information would be so appreciated! 
    • Hi Michael, That's quite a spike in blood pressure!  I haven't tested that myself and don't want to if it means I have to eat gluten.  Blood pressure testing to identify food reactions is something that has come up before.  It sounds like it might be possible but I don't know how much study has been done on it.  Probably not much since it is such a simple, straight forward idea. Welcome to the forum!
    • Hi Megan, Did the doctor test you for celiac disease?  You really shouldn't go gluten-free until all the testing for celiac disease is completed.  It is a little odd for a doctor to tell you to go gluten-free for no reason IMHO.  Did he/she explain the reason for it? Personally, I have learned over the years what I can eat safely and what I can't.  Occasionally I get hit but it is rare.  Simplifying your diet is a good first step.  Avoiding processed foods for a while and dairy also is good.  I suggest any change you make last for a month at least. Then try the food again. If you are eating 100 random ingredients/foods each day it is hard to figure these things out.  If you reduce it to a much smaller number of foods then things become simpler. Welcome to the forum!
    • Finally, proof that non-celiac gluten sensitivity is real. ... for the 30 percent of consumers who choose to buy gluten-free products and the 41 percent of ... View the full article
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,154
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    calla84
    Joined