Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Soy?
0

9 posts in this topic

Hi, I have been diagnosed with Celiac disease 4 weeks ago. I thought I was getting a handle on the dietary needs by reading all the info I can find and meeting with a dietician. Today at my Dr. appointment he said I also had to be aware of cross contamination with Soy. I guess I'm back to the deer in the headlights feeling. I'm wondering if I could get some advice on where to start sorting this out? Thanks for any advice.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Generally, some celiacs are fine with soy; others are not. Its the same with dairy and nightshades; some people can handle them and others not.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

He may have meant that most soy sauce contains gluten (wheat). It is clearly listed on the label.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Soy beans can be grown in the same fields (not at the same time, obviously). So it's not an outrageous concern.

But, I would suggest that you concentrate on removing all gluten from your diet for an extended time period. If....after you're satisfied that you have been "clean" from all gluten (as much as possible), then explore other potential intolerance's.

One step at a time! ;)

And welcome!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Good advice. I'm learning each time I log in I feel better every day without gluten in my diet. Thanks for the welcome.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




I am also a new celiac and was warned of soy which I have found to be troublesome. Also tapioca which is disappointing since so many products that are gluten-free contain either soy or tapioca flours. Learning to cook decent means has been a challenge and I do miss bread terribly. Pizza was a fond memory until Dominoes gluten free which I actually find quite tolerable. I have a supportive boyfriend, however, and friends have finally stopped offering cakes, pies and cookies. I am new to researching it and looking forward to learning more. Thank you all for being here.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am also a new celiac and was warned of soy which I have found to be troublesome. Also tapioca which is disappointing since so many products that are gluten-free contain either soy or tapioca flours. Learning to cook decent means has been a challenge and I do miss bread terribly. Pizza was a fond memory until Dominoes gluten free which I actually find quite tolerable. I have a supportive boyfriend, however, and friends have finally stopped offering cakes, pies and cookies. I am new to researching it and looking forward to learning more. Thank you all for being here.

Are you saying that you think tapioca has gluten or that you cannot tolerate it? Tapioca flour/starch is a gluten-free product, which a lot of us use in baking. You might want to check these lists of safe and unsafe ingredients and also the Newbie 101 topic.

Edit: If for some reason you cannot tolerate tapioca, there are other starches that can be substituted in baking (potato starch, cornstarch, etc.)

Edited by sa1937
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Some of the dangers you will find will be in products like soy sauce, teriyaki, worchestershire, chicken and beef broth and other additive products. Archer Daniels Midland is a giant company that makes tons of food additives (citric acid, xantham gum, etc) and you'll need to learn which of those products are derived from wheat, barley or rye. Plus watch for things like "natural flavoring" as well. Sometimes those are safe, sometimes not. Your body will let you know, but that's the worst way to find a food contains gluten. I have an app on my phone just for gluten containing ingredients...basically lists whether they are safe or not. Works great in a crunch when I can't recall from the hundreds of ingredients whether something is safe.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Probably your doctor meant soy sauce, which usually includes wheat.

However, some celiacs (me included) end up with an intolerance to soy (including me). However, since you have just started eating gluten-free and are still healing, as another poster said, give youself a few months to heal before worrying about other food intolerances. If you're getting symptoms after that, then you can look at soy (dairy/casein is another common problem) as a culprit.

In the meantime, just be very careful when reading labels. There are great gluten-free soy sauces out there, and you can make your own teriaki, etc, or carry some with you to sushi restaurants and such.

Happy healing

Peg

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,099
    • Total Posts
      920,354
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Oh, Trish at the GlutenFreeWatchDog tested Planter's honey roasted peanuts three years ago.  The can did not state gluten-free, but showed no gluten ingrediants (per Kraft policy).  Test result: less than 5 part per million which is pretty much gluten-free.  
    • What if it were something else that glutened you?  Maybe you ate too much of a good thing?  I once (three months post dx) ate too much gluten-free fried chicken, vomited, passed out and fractured my back (osteoporosis) in the process.  Paramedics, ER doc and Cardio all thought I was having a heart attack.   No.  It was sheer gluttony and bad bones.  Not good to overload with a damaged gut.    Maybe you did get some contaminated nuts.  Afterall, anything processed is suspect.  What might be well tolerated by some, might be too much for others.  We all have our various levels of gluten intolerance.   The old 20 parts per million is just a guideline, but science does not really know (lack of funding......doe anyone really care enough to find out?)  My hubby has been gluten-free for 15 years.  When I was first diagnosed, I tried to eat the gluten-free foods that I normally gave him.   Problem was he was healed and I was not.  Things like Xanthan Gum in commercial processed gluten-free breads make me feel like I have been glutened, but it is just (and still is) an intolerance.  So no bread for me unless I make it myself using a different gum.   Too lazy, so I do without.   so, ask your doctor if you really want to know or lay off the cashews and test them again in a month using a certified gluten-free nut.  I wish this was easier!    
    • I have intolerances to a few foods now, so I was wondering about that.. I love cashews though, and a month or two ago I was eating them all the time with no problems at all. I mean, could I really have developed an intolerance to them since then? I don't know if they're made on shared lines (it didn't say on the package so I assumed they weren't), but I'll give them a call. I'm really, really sensitive to cross contamination. Even if something is just made in the same facility (but not on shared lines) it will make me sick. If that's not it, then I'm not really sure
    • Research with KP and find a celiac-savvy GI in your area ( read the biographies). and ask your PCP/GP for a referral to that specific GI (not his buddy).  Ask the GI for the rest  of the celiac panel or proceed with an endoscopy/biopsies -- 4 to six.  Keep eating gluten daily until all testing is complete.  Document and request in writing.  Do not worry about symptoms.  There are over 300 of them and some celiacs have none!   Research all that you can about celiac disease.  The University of Chicago has a great celiac website that has testing Information etc.   Poet me know how it works out.  Hope you feel better soon!  
    • I react to both wheat and barley.  I've opted to just go completely gluten free, for the sake of simplicity and my sanity.  I don't have a diagnosis of celiac disease, but I strongly suspect it.  Unfortunately, I'm not willing to endure the misery of staying on gluten long enough to pursue further testing.  I just know I need to avoid the gluten grains, so I do.  
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

    There are no registered users currently online

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,134
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Alinapep
    Joined