Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Salad Dressing
0

11 posts in this topic

Ok am very confused on the whole salad dressig thing. Why cant I eat bottled salad dressing if it does not say wheat on the label? :huh:

Have read that in several different places.

Thank you

Laura

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Some salad dressings have gluten, but there are lots you can have. Most Kraft dressings are gluten-free--just read the ingredients. If there is gluten, Kraft will clearly disclose it. Golden Italian and French are the two I use regularly. Wish-Bone is a Unilever brand--they, too, will clearly list gluten in the ingredients.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In the US, Wishbone & Ken's say gluten-free on them Most other salad dressings are gluten-free. Look for malt vinegar or soy sauce (wheat, soy, etc) on the ingredients.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ok so let me get this straight...not only do I have to look at the ingredients in the items that I choose but also have to look at the ingredients in the ingredients of the items I choose? :o

Sorry still new to this whole gluten free thing...thought I kinda understood but now not too sure :D

Laura

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

soy sauce is not a one ingredient. Its usually written soy sauce (wheat, soy...) But its all on the ingredient list. . Its quite common to list ingredients, gluten or otherwise that way.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




It may appear as a main ingredient, or may appear in parentheses as a subingredient. But it will be there, so if you read whole list, including sublists, and don't see it, it is not there. It you see the name of a gluten source anywhere, avoid the product.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yep, I've had to throw out sauces and dressings that list soy sauce as an ingredient (without breaking it down further). However, in the allergen information they all say "contains wheat."

Took me a while to figure out where that wheat was hiding!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ok, I'm new to this game too and have been purging stuff in my pantry. Let me see, soy sauce bad..soy good? What about soy milk like Silk?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ok, I'm new to this game too and have been purging stuff in my pantry. Let me see, soy sauce bad..soy good? What about soy milk like Silk?

Soy sauce that has wheat in it. It should say : water, olive oil, soy sauce ( wheat, soy, ...) salt. There are soy sauces without wheat. If they have wheat, they must list it in the US & Canada.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Soy sauce that has wheat in it. It should say : water, olive oil, soy sauce ( wheat, soy, ...) salt. There are soy sauces without wheat. If they have wheat, they must list it in the US & Canada.

Thanks, I have discovered that in labeling so soy itself and soy milk is ok?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks, I have discovered that in labeling so soy itself and soy milk is ok?

Soy doesn't contain gluten. Read the ingredients of products to see if any gluten is added.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0