6 replies to this topic

#1 mackahroni

mackahroni

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 19 October 2012 - 11:15 PM

Hi there! About 2 years ago, I was diagnosed with a wheat allergy, but did nothing about it. For a while, I was fine. Now I can't seem to eat anything with wheat. My mom and I are unsure, but it might be a gluten intolerance as well. For about a month, I have been slowly starting a gluten free diet, but at this point, i can't process any wheat. Basically I need guidance! I am a college freshman and have no idea what I can and can't eat! Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 shadowicewolf

shadowicewolf

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,735 posts

Posted 20 October 2012 - 06:35 AM

do you live on campus and eat there? If so you need to get a letter from your doctor explaining your issues with it, take it to the disability office on campus, and then they can help you with the rest.

#3 mommida

mommida

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,857 posts

Posted 20 October 2012 - 08:10 AM

At this point because you are still eating gluten, get the Celaic panel. Then you will know if you have to avoid gluten or just wheat.
Michigan

#4 glutenfree015

glutenfree015

New Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts

Posted 20 October 2012 - 08:15 AM

Hey there,