Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Maltitol


  • Please log in to reply

2 replies to this topic

#1 gancan

 
gancan

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 43 posts
 

Posted 20 October 2012 - 07:46 AM

Hi,

I am new to this and have been reading what ingredients NOT to eat however I am confused when it comes to Maltitol for example in chewing gum. Is this safe? If I understand correctly I should not having malt products.. is this one of them?

Thanks!
  • 0
10/2012 - gluten free

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 psawyer

 
psawyer

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,048 posts
 

Posted 20 October 2012 - 07:54 AM

The prohibited items have the word malt as a word. Several gluten-free ingredients start with the letters m-a-l-t.

Safe:
Maltitol
Maltodextrin
Maltol
Maltose (also known as "malt sugar")

Unsafe:
Malt (unless a gluten-free source is stated, as in "rice malt")
Malt Extract
Malt Flavor
Malt Syrup
Malt Vinegar
Malted Milk
  • 0
Peter
Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000.
Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986
Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

#3 my3monkees

 
my3monkees

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 39 posts
 

Posted 20 October 2012 - 11:39 AM

Just an FYI, that is a sugar alcohol which can cause tummy trouble in alot of people!
  • 1




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: