This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Where Your Contribution Counts!
    eNewsletter
    Support Us!

And So It Begins

LadyCeliac

LadyCeliac Newbie

Hi!

I'm new to this...2 weeks since my blood diagnosis. I really thought, "well, just clean out the kitchen and pantry and go gluten-free...sure, it'll be tough, but you can do this."

Famous last words.

I'm overwhelmed and feel pretty alone. My doctor didn't just cut out gluten, but soy, dairy, nuts, nut flours, corn and oats because of Hashimoto's thyroid and latex allergies (no avocado, celery, fig, kiwi, etc).

Needless to say, it's been rough. I learned the hard way that girl cannot live on rice and veggies alone. My blood sugars bottomed out and my boss sent me home. Protein is my friend! That's helped. I eat throughout the day. I had gained weight, which is what prompted the doctor's visit, and left wondering what eating throughout the day will do for my ever-expanding waist-line.

I thought that after working to get gluten out, I'd notice at least a little difference. Instead, I feel significantly worse. I'm sleeping about 12 hours a day, which is really starting to impact work/performance, and now my hair is thinning.

Didn't know where else to turn. :(

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

shadowicewolf Proficient

Dear, what are you eating? Perhaps you can give us a rundown on what you eat everyday and maybe we can, in turn, point you in a good direction.

It is tough. While my symptoms pretty much cleared up a week or so afterwards it took months to get to what i'd discribe as normal. Your body needs to heal and it does take time.