Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Whey?


  • Please log in to reply

3 replies to this topic

#1 GlutenFreex4

 
GlutenFreex4

    New Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
 

Posted 25 October 2012 - 07:11 AM

I have always assumed that Whey is a wheat protein and as such, not gluten free. Can I continue to use whey for smoothies?
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 psawyer

 
psawyer

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,057 posts
 

Posted 25 October 2012 - 07:13 AM

Whey is gluten-free. It is a dairy product.
  • 0
Peter
Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000.
Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986
Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

#3 GlutenFreex4

 
GlutenFreex4

    New Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
 

Posted 25 October 2012 - 07:22 AM

Thanks for the great news :D
  • 0

#4 shadowicewolf

 
shadowicewolf

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,766 posts
 

Posted 25 October 2012 - 07:55 AM

If you are in the USA, food is required to be labeled with the top 8 allergins (which wheat is a part of). So it will clearly list it.
  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: