2 replies to this topic

#1 siouxsie

siouxsie

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts

Posted 07 January 2004 - 07:53 PM

I just found out that I have celiac-sprue. While waiting for the results I talked w/ some cousins and found out that two aunts and one cousin also suffer from horrendous gas, bloating, etc. w/o a clear cut cause. They think maybe lactose or perhaps it's their diabetes. Well, no one knows of this disease in my family but I do know that my relatives w/ similiar symptoms all have Huntington's disease which is a genetic neorological disorder. Just wondering if any one else knows of a connerction between these two diseases. <_<
Suzanne

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 seeking_wholeness

seeking_wholeness

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 350 posts

Posted 08 January 2004 - 09:16 AM

Suzanne,

I'm no expert, but I don't think that there is a connection between celiac disease and Huntington's disease. Both are genetic, but they have completely different transmission patterns--and if they were caused by the same gene, I have no doubt we would all know about it! celiac disease has a *predisposing* gene (actually two), but even if you carry one of these genes, there is no guarantee that you will ever develop the disease itself. Huntington's disease is a degenerative neurological disorder that usually shows up after the childbearing years. Unfortunately, the gene that causes it is dominant, which means that if you inherit it from *one* of your parents, you will *definitely* get the disease. (Most genetic diseases, like cystic fibrosis and sickle-cell anemia for instance, are transmitted by recessive genes--meaning that you have to inherit a copy of the defective gene from *each* parent to have the disease. If you inherit only a single gene, you will be a "carrier" and can possibly pass the disease to your offspring, but you will have minimal if any symptoms yourself. This is unfortunately NOT how Huntington's d