This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

designerstubble

designerstubble Enthusiast

hello everyone

i'm new to all of this celiac thing having only been diagnosed at aged 39 (unofficially) 5 weeks ago.

a history of at least 5 years of gi problems, increasing in severity the last 2 years. have low ferritin (4), low haemaglobin (9.2) borderline deficient b12.

i have been gluten-free for almost 5 weeks and initially began to feel better quickly and i was SO happy ...

the thing is 3 weeks into being gluten-free i had a terrible attack of aches and pains, feeling cold and terrible night sweats for a week. it seemed to resolve itself and i have slowly been building myself back up again...

then again 4 nights ago i started feeling cold and sweating profusely through the night, i have also had loose bowels, no aches or pains though, but could sleep half the day.

i am at my wits end, i'm so depressed, everything i google with night sweats keeps coming back to lymphoma... and obviously anything you google with celiac mortality rates comes back to small bowel cancer and lymphoma etc....

i'm already depressed and anxious, but now i just dont know what to do... i'm so worried i have something sinister mostly because of these night sweats (they are terrible) i cant sleep after i wake at around 3am drenched. i have been very careful to be gluten-free and don't believe i have cross contaminated.

i'm trying so hard to keep things in perspective, as i have a little 5 year old boy to look after.