Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Canned Tomato Sauce, Diced Tomatoes, Tomato Paste


  • Please log in to reply

3 replies to this topic

#1 nicoleashley

 
nicoleashley

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 33 posts
 

Posted 21 November 2012 - 07:38 PM

ok, this may sound like a stupid question, but do I need to be concerned about any canned tomato sauces, tomato paste, and diced tomato? I am making chili tomorrow and I bought a brand of tomato sauce that says "gluten free", however many of the other sauces list their ingredients (tomatoes, water, spices, etc) and do not seem to have any contaminants. I mean I figure canned green beans and carrots are fine, but tomato sauce when they list 'spices' or something, I just wonder if there is a possibility of it containing gluten. Also the tomato paste I was concerned it might have some thickening agent in it that could be problematic.
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 mushroom

 
mushroom

    Mushroom

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,448 posts
 

Posted 21 November 2012 - 07:45 PM

You do need to be concerned enough to read the label, but if there is no wheat listed there (and barley, rye and oats are highly unlikely), you should be just fine.
  • 0
Neroli


"Everything that can be counted does not necessarily count; everything that counts cannot necessarily be counted." - Albert Einstein

"Life is not weathering the storm; it is learning to dance in the rain"

"Whatever the question, the answer is always chocolate." Nigella Lawson

------------

Caffeine free 1973
Lactose free 1990
(Mis)diagnosed IBS, fibromyalgia '80's and '90's
Diagnosed psoriatic arthritis 2004
Self-diagnosed gluten intolerant, gluten-free Nov. 2007
Soy free March 2008
Nightshade free Feb 2009
Citric acid free June 2009
Potato starch free July 2009
(Totally) corn free Nov. 2009
Legume free March 2010
Now tolerant of lactose

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

#3 shadowicewolf

 
shadowicewolf

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,758 posts
 

Posted 21 November 2012 - 07:46 PM

Do you live in the U.S.? By law, they have to list wheat containing items. Do be careful with the paste though i've heard of one kind that has it added (clearly listed though).
  • 0

#4 tarnalberry

 
tarnalberry

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,542 posts
 

Posted 21 November 2012 - 09:34 PM

ALWAYS read the label.
But hidden ingredients aren't really a concern here, imho.
  • 0
Tiffany aka "Have I Mentioned Chocolate Lately?"
Inconclusive Blood Tests, Positive Dietary Results, No Endoscopy
G.F. - September 2003; C.F. - July 2004
Hiker, Yoga Teacher, Engineer, Painter, Be-er of Me
Bellevue, WA




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: