Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Caramel Coloring Confusion!
0

4 posts in this topic

When I was first diagnosed, my Gastrologist gave me a bunch of information on hidden sources of gluten and one of them was caramel coloring. And when I went to my dietiton a few weeks ago, she gave me stuff that said the same thing. So I've been competely avoiding any type of colas like Pepsi and Coke. My favorite soda is Dr Pepper so I've reluctantly been avoiding that too. I haven't been a big cola drinker for the last 4 years because I've had a few kidney stones in my lifetime and my urolgist told me that the caramel coloring in colas can contribute to harming your kidneys and forming stones (it still doesn't help that cheese is my favorite food since calcium is the main source but I digress). So I would ocassionaly treat myself to a Dr Pepper or Pepsi or Coke every once in a blue moon. It's not really a huge deal but I'm just confused about caramel coloring because I've read things where Coca Cola has said that their products are gluten free. Also Wishbone italian salad dressing says gluten free but has caramel color in it. Also, I have a family friend who has Celiac pretty bad and is very sensitive and her favorite drink of all time is Pepsi. It's the only thing she drinks all day long and she says it doesn't effect her at all. I've done some research and I found that some sites I've looked at said that in the US caramel color is made from corn. So I'm just a little confused as to whether it's really safe or not. Just wondering if any of you have some insight on this. Thanks!!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Caramel color is one of those celiac urban myths that just won't go away.

Here is Shelley Case's take on it, from Gluten-Free Diet A Comprehensive Resource Guide:

Although gluten-containing ingredients (barley malt syrup and starch hydrolysates) can be used in the production of caramel color, North American companies use corn as it has a longer shelf life and makes a superior product. European companies use glucose derived from wheat starch, however caramel color is highly processed and contains no gluten.
[Emphasis in original]

I don't worry about caramel color. Pepsi and Coca-Cola are gluten-free in all variations.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Another thing is that in the US, gluten cannot be hidden in food products. So it'll be on the label if its there. Note, however, this does not include possible CC due to shared factories.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Another thing is that in the US, gluten cannot be hidden in food products. So it'll be on the label if its there. Note, however, this does not include possible CC due to shared factories.

Actually, this is not quite true.

They do not have to disclose "hidden gluten". They only have to disclose WHEAT.

The eight foods identified by the law are:

  1. Milk

  2. Eggs

  3. Fish (e.g., bass, flounder, cod)

  4. Crustacean shellfish (e.g. crab, lobster, shrimp)

  5. Tree nuts (e.g., almonds, walnuts, pecans)

  6. Peanuts

  7. Wheat

  8. Soybeans

These eight foods, and any ingredient that contains protein derived from one or more of them, are designated as “major food allergens” by FALCPA.

If a product contains oats, for example, it will not say "may contain wheat"--but we all know it could

if those oats are not certified G F.

If a product contains barley, they do not have to label it as anything at all.

There are people lobbying to get "gluten labeling laws", but it has not passed yet.

Sadly, I had to learn all this the hard way, early on.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,688
    • Total Posts
      921,756
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Do you mean something like a protein powder you could mix up?  A lot of them in the US seem to be gluten free.  Maybe just go to your local store and read all the labels?
    • Yeah I ended up allergic to corn, olives, sesame, whey, and peanuts and intolerant to dairy, soy, yeast, enzyme issues with breaking down meats, and egg yolks, along with extreme bloat with any kind of carbs/sugars in moderate amounts. And very adverse reactions to certain artificial sweeteners. So your not alone in all the other issues cropping up, it happens as our bodies adjust.  I eat a bunch of stir frys with veggies, egg whites, plenty of  avocados, and toasted and raw forms of almonds, coconut, cashews, walnuts, hemp seeds, pumpkin seeds, flax seeds, sancha inchi seeds, chia seeds, and sunflower seeds in all forms including making them into butters, spreads, and incorporating them into sauces.   Most meals are forms of soups, omelettes, and stir frys. I do the seeds and nuts on rotation same with my veggies and snack on fruits in small amounts along with some homemade baked goods I make for markets. I do suggest a rotation of foods, my dietician said I need to rotate my foods to prevent more issues, making sure I am off one one for at least 7-14 days at a time completely. I find changing up the spices and rotating my cuisine base works well. I also make puddings, and protein shakes along with nut/seed milks, and different bases and extract flavorings to get my random cravings Taken care of. Guess take what you can from this and and see how it can help you,    As to the tinging, I ended up with both B vitamin and magnesium deficiency issues, the magnesium one caused a fire like tingling in my arms, legs and back, along with muscle pain. Ended up on a doctors best powder form of it so I can dose it out right, and found epsom salt bathes helped.  
    • Hi, I've gained so much knowledge on this forum over the past few months, which I am so thankful for. I can see how much hell people are going through with this disease and it's so lovely to see how much support and advice people give to others on here. I'd like a little bit of reassurance and advice myself from anyone that can help. I've been gluten free for six months. Two weeks after going gluten free I realised I also had a problem with corn so cut out processed food. Over the following weeks and months I continually had problems with food; fruit, dairy, a lot of vegetables, nuts, soya....it's basically dwindled down to just eating potatoes (not white potatoes), cucumber, lettuce, small amounts of red onion, spring onion, sprouts and beetroot. There may be more things I could be okay with but to be honest I'm too scared to try.  Is this all normal? Am I an extreme case? I've been taking some digestive enzymes and probiotics for about six weeks, my acid reflux has dramatically decreased but I always have a lot of loud noises going on in my guts, I'm guessing this is the probiotics working.  I've lost nearly 3st in weight since this started - which I'm not complaining about as I was overweight due to thyroid problems. I've had loads of blood tests done recently, all organs are working 'great' according to my doctor, the only thing they've picked up on is ketones, I seem to be having a glucose problem, which might explain my exhaustion and weight loss. I also have permanent numbness and sometimes tingling in one of my legs and sometimes hands and one shoulder, I thought it could have vitamin B12 deficiency but that's okay according to blood tests. I would be greatful for any replies. Thanks for reading.
    • Hi everyone, I am doing job in restaurant at evening 5 to 12 during working hours no time to do a dinner. I'm thinking to make a shake but don't know the gluten free vitamin or supplement brand which one is good for me and easily available in Berlin Germany to make me fit cause last one week i feel weak. I'm 28 year old. Sincerely
    • Hey there just wanted to warn anyone that has other allergies- these crackers may not be a good choice! I'm mildly sensitive to MSG- I only react if there's a giant amount like in Chinese food or Ramen noodles, etc.  I literally have a to eat TONS of a the offending food before reacting.  Anyway, I was excited to try these Trader Joes pumpkin crackers, kept hearing about them on the radio .... and they're gluten free!  (I have Hashi's).  I ate about 3/4 of the box last night. Woke up this morning with a red itchy face and nasal congestion, headache, anxiety. Hallmark symptoms for me of high MSG intake. (It does say yeast extract on the side but it's pretty far down the list). So if you're sensitive.... stay away! Apparently these particular crackers are loaded with it. 
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,690
    • Most Online
      3,093

    Newest Member
    lastcowgirl26
    Joined