Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Wax On Veggies? *sigh*
0

10 posts in this topic

So I just read a few pages of a long thread on this topic and i'm confused.....some say gluten may be in wax and that stores are suppose to disclose this but our stores here don't. Do I need to worry about the rutabaga i just bought to try? This is beyond crazy please someone tell me no I don't need to worry about it *siiiiigh*

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

It certainly isn't something I worry about. I have never seen a documented case of gluten in wax, just wild speculation.

Maybe the stores in your area don't disclose anything because there isn't anything to disclose in the first place.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've never been zapped by a waxed rutabega. I live in the deep south, so they're all waxed by the time they arrive here.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ok good thanks guys for the clarification. I saw a loooooong thread from about this time last year talking about it but no one really closed it up with any confirmation of it so I was very confused.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This from another site (http://www.csaceliacs.info/edible_films.jsp):

Update on Edible Films Adapted from Food Technology, Vol 51, No 2, Feb 97, pp 60, 62-63

Scientific Status Summary by John M. Druchta and Catherine DeMulder Johnston / University of California-Davis

Lifeline, Spring 1997, Vol XV, No 2, pp 1-3 a

"The materials that have received the greatest attention for edible films use are cellulose ethers, starch, hydroxypropylated starch, corn zein, wheat gluten, soy protein and milk proteins. Food processors considering use of protein-based films must be aware that some consumers have a wheat gluten intolerance (Celiac Disease), milk protein allergies, or lactose intolerance. Use of such films as coatings on foods must be declared appropriately to the consumer, no matter how small the amount used."

From what I read, the gluten coatings are mainly being used for baked goods that are presumably wheat anyway.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




From what i've heard, bee's wax is mainly used on fruits and something similar on veggies. I could be wrong :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

gatita is correct, It will be labled on the box. Just ask your produce mananger to see the box it came in.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That old thread you read is most likely from super sensitive celiacs who react to very tiny amounts of cc. Typical celiacs don't need to worry.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have heard this at my group as well. I am considered "super sensitive" as I react strongly to very minute amounts of cross contamination and ive never had an issue with any fruit or vegetable. I wash them very thoroughly and I cut off any part that had a sticker on it. Hopefully that is enough! We shouldn't have to worry so much about food that comes right out of the ground and off of trees.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.