Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Can Anyone Tell Me If These Products Are Gluten-Free?


  • Please log in to reply

6 replies to this topic

#1 sneaky_flute

 
sneaky_flute

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
 

Posted 07 December 2012 - 10:15 AM

cascade action pacs with dawn
palmolive original dish liquid
pronamel (mint essence flavor)
head and shoulders classic clean
tide detergent pods
zest fresh aloe bar soap
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 T.H.

 
T.H.

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,816 posts
 

Posted 08 December 2012 - 07:35 AM

Colgate-Palmolive, as of last year, was not adding gluten intentionally to any of their products. However, for some products they added a caveat that they can't "guarantee that the ingredients we use are not exposed to any gluten." Palmolive soap is one of the ones listed in the 'can't guarantee' category. Some people are comfortable and still use it, some don't. I know many people use Dawn, or 7th Generation dish soap.

Tide is supposed to be gluten free
Sensodyne pronamel is supposed to be gluten free but the company also states that the "raw materials suppliers cannot guarantee there's no gluten contamination in them." (http://celiacdisease...uld-I-Worry.htm)


'Fraid I don't know about the rest, but you can contact the companies and they should be able to tell you, hopefully. :-)
  • 0

T.H.

Gluten free since August 10, 2009.
21 years with undiagnosed Celiac Disease

23 years with undiagnosed sulfite sensitivity

25 years with undiagnosed mast cell activation disorder (MCAD) 

 

Daughter: celiac and MCAD positive

Son: gluten intolerant
Father, brother: celiac positive


#3 Hemay

 
Hemay

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
 

Posted 15 December 2012 - 03:26 PM

I've been searching to find out whether Swanson's aseptic organic vegetable broth (not the canned, but in the waxed box) is gluten free. I've found lists that state their canned vegetable broth is gluten free, but can I assume the aseptic box container is also? I am relatively new to the whole "gluten free" thing on behalf of my best friend and the ingredients list says "flavors". Thank you anyone who can help.
  • 0

#4 psawyer

 
psawyer

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,048 posts
 

Posted 15 December 2012 - 03:41 PM

Swanson broths are made by Campbell's. They will clearly disclose any gluten source in the ingredient list.
  • 0
Peter
Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000.
Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986
Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

#5 Lisa

 
Lisa

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,799 posts
 

Posted 15 December 2012 - 05:57 PM

But, please also note that Campbell's US and Campbell's Canada have a very different list of gluten free options. If you contact them by phone, they will send you their gluten free listings by snail mail, with several coupons of their products that, for the large part, are NOT gluten free. But...I guess it's the thought that counts. :P

I buy Swanson's Chicken Broth (in the box) frequently. As Peter mentioned, read the ingredients, as any form of gluten should be listed if added.

Edited to add:

http://www.campbells...ProductList.pdf

(updated 2-2012)
  • 0
Lisa

Gluten Free - August 15, 2004

"Not all who wander are lost" - JRR Tolkien

#6 Lisa

 
Lisa

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,799 posts
 

Posted 15 December 2012 - 06:08 PM

cascade action pacs with dawn
palmolive original dish liquid
pronamel (mint essence flavor)
head and shoulders classic clean
tide detergent pods
zest fresh aloe bar soap


Most of your concern should reside with your shampoo and soap bar, as both could find their way into your mouth. The other ingredients would most likely not contain any gluten. But, you are wise to inquire. :)

There is generally an 1-800 number on the back of the product, to find a customer rep who could answer your questions.
  • 0
Lisa

Gluten Free - August 15, 2004

"Not all who wander are lost" - JRR Tolkien

#7 Hemay

 
Hemay

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
 

Posted 17 December 2012 - 05:51 AM

Okay… so I guess even though it has "flavors" listed in the ingredients list, if those flavors come from an allergen source (in this case gluten), they have to disclose it by also stating it contains gluten? I'll go ahead and call them now that it's Monday.

Thank you!
  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: