Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Can We Trust Any Risotto In Restaurants?
1 1

16 posts in this topic

Hello,

I used to love risotto in restaurants before my diagnosis. Do you know if it is definite that any risotto is gluten free?

I am afraid they might have cream that is not gluten-free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Cream is dairy. I have never seen it with gluten in it.

However, you never know what might be in the risotto recipe. the only way to know for sure, would be to ask and hope they give you a good answer.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I wouldn't, but thats just me. Its more of a CC issue in those types of places than it is an actual gluten problem. Though it is possible that they could use flour to thicken the sauce.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The only way to know is to ask. There is no blanket-type answer, really.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have yet to see any risotto recipe that used flour, or called for something that was likely to contain wheat.

But that's not to say that you couldn't use a wheat containing ingredient (say, the Organic Swanson's Chicken Broth when the recipe calls for stock).

Nor is it to say that there couldn't be a cross contamination issue in a shared facility, like any.

Like ANYTHING, you cannot categorize an entire TYPE of food as gluten free.

As with any dish at any restaurant, call ahead and ask!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Traditional risotto never contains flour. There is absolutely no need. I make risotto OFTEN. However, the broths are in question. Here in Canada there are some that do contain gluten. I make my own stocks. If restaurants make their own (and good ones will) risotto can indeed be safe. The key word is can. As mentioned above, always ask. If you want great risotto recipes (risotto is easy to make at home) just ask. I have tons and tons.

Risotto usually contains:

- arborio rice (never plain white rice)

- butter and/or olive oil

- shallots

- white (or red) wine

- stock

- fresh herbs

- S and P

- cheese (Parmesan or Pecorino usually)

- and the very odd time, a touch of cream

I often make mine using dried mushrooms which I reconstitute in Sherry or Port. The resulting mushroom "stock" gets added, too.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have heard, however, of an "epic debate" amongst the different culinary backgrounds in Italy when it comes to risotto - some say butter, some say bone marrow! I've always used butter or oil, because I'm lazy. :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have heard, however, of an "epic debate" amongst the different culinary backgrounds in Italy when it comes to risotto - some say butter, some say bone marrow! I've always used butter or oil, because I'm lazy. :)

Yes, that's true! I've done it with both at the same time - quite decadent and rich to say the least. ^_^

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It is more clear to me now, thank you for your comments.

I will always ask beforehead accordingly.

@love2travel, it would be great if you can share risotto recepies, I am a huge fan :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Absolutely inspiring!! Thank you again!

I will check around for black garlic:)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 risotto is made from rice but it is typically barley rice which is not gluten free. So if you have severe gluten allergies you would probably want to stay away from risotto. It also brings up other food allergies or sensitivities blackberry which most risottos use butter cream or milk in some form

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
16 minutes ago, Robbird said:

 risotto is made from rice but it is typically barley rice which is not gluten free. So if you have severe gluten allergies you would probably want to stay away from risotto. It also brings up other food allergies or sensitivities blackberry which most risottos use butter cream or milk in some form

I don't understand  - what is "barley rice"?  Blackberries in risotto?  They do have dairy but I don't think that was the question

 

Risotto is made with rice.  It is possible, not likely,  that a restaurant might add flour to thicken.  I would always ask about the ingredients.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
17 hours ago, Robbird said:

 risotto is made from rice but it is typically barley rice which is not gluten free. So if you have severe gluten allergies you would probably want to stay away from risotto. It also brings up other food allergies or sensitivities blackberry which most risottos use butter cream or milk in some form

I'm thinking  you heard 'arborio' as barley.  Arborio is the type of rice typically used to make risotto and has no gluten.  

However, I will mention that I found one packaged risotto mix that contains something called '00 flour', which, after research (and after almost eating it), I learned was HIGH GLUTEN flour.  I think it was a ShopRite or Stop and Shop brand with a 'global cuisine' type brand name.  

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

no risotto calls for flour it is just rice and vegies or my mom has one where she makes it with a tomato sauce it's very good and also if you buy gluten free cook books you might find them in certain ones but also in regular ones too none of them say they call for flour so you don't have to worry.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, Cathy27 said:

no risotto calls for flour it is just rice and vegies or my mom has one where she makes it with a tomato sauce it's very good and also if you buy gluten free cook books you might find them in certain ones but also in regular ones too none of them say they call for flour so you don't have to worry.

Just because you have recipes or make a dish without flour, you never know how a restaurant might make it.  You always need to ask.  

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
1 1

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,116
    • Total Posts
      919,451
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • I figured I would update those who were wondering.  I have gotten the appt. so far moved up to August 30. I am waiting to have gene testing done via swab for all 3 of my kiddos tomorrow. My daughters celiac antibodies came up negative but her IgA is low which the ped said could cause false negative antibodies for celiac so she will need to see a GI dr. also. The pediatrician is going to call the GI to try to get them in sooner. I am keeping them all on a gluten diet until the GI dr. decides what to do. I am on the cancellation list already for my son, however I am not going to be persistent with my phone calls to them until I have the results of the gene test. I really want that result in my hand before going to the GI dr if I can. Maybe if he is positive, along with his bloodwork and my history they can forgo the endoscopy. But he will eat gluten till then.  My husband and I have been very honest and upfront with him as to what is going on and the possibility of the endoscopy and what that entails and although scared in general he seems ok after assuring him that since I have it he has me to help him every step of the way.  Going through his current diet with him I realized that he is truly on such a low gluten diet that I am actually surprised his bloodwork shows antibodies at all!  So I told him to make a list of allllll the gluten he could possibly think of eating and he needs to pound it until the GI visit or endoscopy. Funny thing is everything he keeps thinking of to want to eat...is already gluten free!  The other night we were at a friends and he asked if he could be done with his hotdog. I made him finish just the bread 😂 Thanks for your help and advise and I will keep y'all posted on both kids!  My oldest is a ok as far as all his antibodies. Just actually had a follow up for other immune issues and all his levels are now normal!
    • I like your plan Cara, I may have to include it in my sons.    Poor little guy is still very very sick. I think he is resisting and cheating, despite having the support of two other siblings and a 100% gluten-free home. 
    • Despite it being a nightmare, I did wait for my kids to get biopsies. At one point I had one severely ill child gluten-free and two more waiting having to eat it. It was worth the wait though and I think long term a biopsy may be worthwhile, especially for school. I have already had issues with schools and camps so having a firm diagnosis has been helpful. 
    • Knowing that the reaction to gluten in celiacs is an uncalled for immune system reaction, I was thinking of how a cure would be possible. Maybe a medicine that somehow turns off the immune system. The only thing that i've heard do that... HIV.  obviously that's way worse than celiac. Just some food for thought.
    • Well, you can probably get an apple or something.  You might be able to get someone to boil you some eggs.  But be careful of things like nuts that should be naturally gluten free.  They have almost always been soaked in a flavor solution that usually containes caramel coloring, "soy" (wheat) sauce and other aditives.  If I am really hungry and must eat in a Chinese restaurant, I order plain white rice and steamed vegetables.  But even so, you must monitor it carefully.  The rice sometimes has other substances added to give it a better texture, and very often the vegetables have in fact had "just a little bit" of soy sauce added.  To be fair, celiac disease is hardly ever found in East Asians, so understandably people are not tuned it to it.  Also, culturally, with the exception of fruits, it is generally thought that the flavor of foods needs to be enhanced, so it is had to find anything natural even in the "western" gorceries. Even in the western restaurants, be careful.  Fish and meat and often vegetables are usually pre-marinated. I will not even attempt to address the issue of cross-comtamination, since that is a whole higher order of things. I do know what I am talking about; I have celiac and have worked here for nearly 7 years.  
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

    There are no registered users currently online

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,154
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    calla84
    Joined