Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Can We Trust Any Risotto In Restaurants?
1 1

16 posts in this topic

Hello,

I used to love risotto in restaurants before my diagnosis. Do you know if it is definite that any risotto is gluten free?

I am afraid they might have cream that is not gluten-free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Cream is dairy. I have never seen it with gluten in it.

However, you never know what might be in the risotto recipe. the only way to know for sure, would be to ask and hope they give you a good answer.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I wouldn't, but thats just me. Its more of a CC issue in those types of places than it is an actual gluten problem. Though it is possible that they could use flour to thicken the sauce.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The only way to know is to ask. There is no blanket-type answer, really.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have yet to see any risotto recipe that used flour, or called for something that was likely to contain wheat.

But that's not to say that you couldn't use a wheat containing ingredient (say, the Organic Swanson's Chicken Broth when the recipe calls for stock).

Nor is it to say that there couldn't be a cross contamination issue in a shared facility, like any.

Like ANYTHING, you cannot categorize an entire TYPE of food as gluten free.

As with any dish at any restaurant, call ahead and ask!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Traditional risotto never contains flour. There is absolutely no need. I make risotto OFTEN. However, the broths are in question. Here in Canada there are some that do contain gluten. I make my own stocks. If restaurants make their own (and good ones will) risotto can indeed be safe. The key word is can. As mentioned above, always ask. If you want great risotto recipes (risotto is easy to make at home) just ask. I have tons and tons.

Risotto usually contains:

- arborio rice (never plain white rice)

- butter and/or olive oil

- shallots

- white (or red) wine

- stock

- fresh herbs

- S and P

- cheese (Parmesan or Pecorino usually)

- and the very odd time, a touch of cream

I often make mine using dried mushrooms which I reconstitute in Sherry or Port. The resulting mushroom "stock" gets added, too.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have heard, however, of an "epic debate" amongst the different culinary backgrounds in Italy when it comes to risotto - some say butter, some say bone marrow! I've always used butter or oil, because I'm lazy. :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have heard, however, of an "epic debate" amongst the different culinary backgrounds in Italy when it comes to risotto - some say butter, some say bone marrow! I've always used butter or oil, because I'm lazy. :)

Yes, that's true! I've done it with both at the same time - quite decadent and rich to say the least. ^_^

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It is more clear to me now, thank you for your comments.

I will always ask beforehead accordingly.

@love2travel, it would be great if you can share risotto recepies, I am a huge fan :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Absolutely inspiring!! Thank you again!

I will check around for black garlic:)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 risotto is made from rice but it is typically barley rice which is not gluten free. So if you have severe gluten allergies you would probably want to stay away from risotto. It also brings up other food allergies or sensitivities blackberry which most risottos use butter cream or milk in some form

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
16 minutes ago, Robbird said:

 risotto is made from rice but it is typically barley rice which is not gluten free. So if you have severe gluten allergies you would probably want to stay away from risotto. It also brings up other food allergies or sensitivities blackberry which most risottos use butter cream or milk in some form

I don't understand  - what is "barley rice"?  Blackberries in risotto?  They do have dairy but I don't think that was the question

 

Risotto is made with rice.  It is possible, not likely,  that a restaurant might add flour to thicken.  I would always ask about the ingredients.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
17 hours ago, Robbird said:

 risotto is made from rice but it is typically barley rice which is not gluten free. So if you have severe gluten allergies you would probably want to stay away from risotto. It also brings up other food allergies or sensitivities blackberry which most risottos use butter cream or milk in some form

I'm thinking  you heard 'arborio' as barley.  Arborio is the type of rice typically used to make risotto and has no gluten.  

However, I will mention that I found one packaged risotto mix that contains something called '00 flour', which, after research (and after almost eating it), I learned was HIGH GLUTEN flour.  I think it was a ShopRite or Stop and Shop brand with a 'global cuisine' type brand name.  

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

no risotto calls for flour it is just rice and vegies or my mom has one where she makes it with a tomato sauce it's very good and also if you buy gluten free cook books you might find them in certain ones but also in regular ones too none of them say they call for flour so you don't have to worry.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, Cathy27 said:

no risotto calls for flour it is just rice and vegies or my mom has one where she makes it with a tomato sauce it's very good and also if you buy gluten free cook books you might find them in certain ones but also in regular ones too none of them say they call for flour so you don't have to worry.

Just because you have recipes or make a dish without flour, you never know how a restaurant might make it.  You always need to ask.  

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
1 1

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,358
    • Total Posts
      920,531
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Here's another thing.  Feeling deprived?  Order two of the same item.  I was hungry by the time dinner arrived! 
    • The doctors just made me feel like I was crazy because they did not have a clue of what was wrong with me. I did a stool test (positive) and I did a genes test (positive for two gluten sensitive genes, one in each chromosome).  Blood test are not so foolproof, if you read the comments/experiences in such topic you will see the problems. Biopsy can give a false negative if taken from an undamaged area. If you have medical problems that go away once on a gluten free diet then gluten is the problem. The medical establishment profit from managing your medical problems and big pharma makes money by pushing pills so we need to be careful because they won't benefit if a gluten-free diet solve your problems. Since I started a Gluten free diet I have been free of the following: (all related to Celiac)  Irregularity, Intestinal noise, Irregular stool, Tooth enamel defects, Rash in upper arms, Abdominal swelling, depression, fatigue, irritability, lactose intolerance, 
      loss of memory, dandruff, uncontrollable bladder, suicidal thoughts, unable to sleep, Canker sores/ Mouth ulcers, high blood pressure, and probably others that I did not realize. I was at the end of my rope, thanks to Google and the people that are able to talk about this I was able to get my life back. I am passionate about this because I know how bad its can get. 
    • Well, I have never cruised on Carnival, but I am sure they can accommodate you.  I assume that you have already alerted them that you require gluten free meals.  If not, please contact Carnival immediately. Here are my own tips.  Some folks eat off the buffet line, but not me or hubby except for coffee/drinks and baked potatoes (jacketed) and fruit that we wash in the restroom (people touch everything!)  Okay, I am OCD, but my last glutening which occurred the previous summer made me sick for three months (GI tested my antibodies to prove it).   When we board, I go to the buffet restaurant ASAP and ask to speak to the Head Waiter (they are usually there greeting customers and often trying to up sell to specialty restaurants.   Let them know you have celiac disease and must be gluten free.  They may try to tell you that each dish is clearly marked gluten free, but really?  Who's to say that some other passenger is not going to switch spoons (or I have seen passengers wandering around with serving spoons...I kid you not!  The staff usually will  go downstairs and fetch a gluten free meal for me from the main dining room's kitchen as there is usually a dedicated area for allergies.  We have to wait up to 20 minutes or so but it is worth it.  Starving?  Get a baked potato wrapped in foil until your gluten-free meal arrives.  Now, do not do this every single time.  Those folks have to go down several levels to fetch food and you don't want to be a pain.  But if the main dining area is closed, they need to make an effort to keep you safe.  On our last cruise, we were advised not to eat anywhere but the main dining room and that included room service (they are not trained to handled allergies).  My headwaiters have sent goodies (prepackaged gluten free rolls and cookies for us to keep in our room.  We can always grab whole fruit (I wash it first) to snack on.  I bring gluten-free non-perishable items with me to eat while at port in case we can't find anything (which can be often).  Again, when we get back to our ship, we contact our headwaiter and he/she can prepare some snacks until we have dinner.   Be grateful and not picky.   We eat all meals in the dining room (or at least as much as possible).  Our headwaiter had a few other celiacs on our cruise this summer, so they prepared some gluten-free waffles, etc. for our breakfast!  What a treat!  At breakfast, we'd have different waiters, so our headwaiter would always instruct our waiters each and every time!  They even let me tour the kitchen and showed me the allergy section.   The only time I did not feel safe was at the buffet.  We once ordered gluten-free pizza and I realized (I watched) that that restaurant didn't really have the gluten-free thing down), do I called him on it.  Got the manager etc.  So, be careful.  Other cruises made us frozen Udi"s which was just fine with us.  They covered it up in foil so that we would not get any cross contamination from their pizza oven. So, have fun!   Tipping?  We prepaid our gratuities, but we gave our headwaiter an extra $200.00 for his time.  For us, it was well worth the service and safety of our food.  It does not hurt to slip some of the tip ahead of time (like after your first meal!)   Oh, I checked your ship.  You must eat in the diningroom if you have special dietary needs.
    • French Celiac / Coeliac Gluten Free Restaurant Card <strong>What is ... What to know about celiac disease, gluten sensitivity, and gluten-free diets. View the full article
    • <strong>Celiac Disease & Gluten-free Diet Information at Celiac.com. Gluten Free Diabetes ::The 3 Step Trick that Reverses Diabetes Permanently in ... View the full article
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,432
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    rbeckler60
    Joined