Jump to content

Follow Us:   Twitter Facebook Celiac.com Forum RSS      



Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts
arrowShare this page:
   
Subscribe Today!


Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:
Photo
- - - - -

Caramel Coloring?

soda carmel coloring pepsi coke sensitive

  • Please log in to reply

26 replies to this topic

#16

 
GFreeMO

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,330 posts
 

Posted 28 January 2013 - 08:45 AM

After being diagnosed as gluten intolerant, I began eating things like tortillas instead of bread, grits instead of cold cereal and continued to have problems. That is when I began researching corn intolerance as well. The reaction I have from corn is just as bad as from wheat.

Me too!
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#17

 
teruff

    New Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
 

Posted 04 February 2013 - 04:35 PM

I react to anything more than 10 ppm. I usually just stick to water, milk, and the juices I juice myself. In my case, anything with artificial flavors will certainly make me sick.
  • 0

#18

 
Finally@45

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 100 posts
 

Posted 06 March 2013 - 03:48 PM

It's not totally an urban myth, some Celiacs are also intolerant to corn--in any form.  I don't think it's a coincidence.   My corn intolerance is worse than the Celiac since I have anaphylaxis even if a food has potassium citrate as an additive.  I can't touch a cola or anything else with caramel color with a ten-foot pole.


  • 0

Celiac & Mastocytosis

Follows a diet similar to the Paleo diet, minus high-histamine items such as

avocadoes, mangoes, papaya, berries, pork, farm-raised fish, spinach, and seeds.

No eggs or red meat either.

 


#19

 
kareng

    Vote Moose!

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15,105 posts
 

Posted 06 March 2013 - 03:57 PM

It's not totally an urban myth, some Celiacs are also intolerant to corn--in any form.  I don't think it's a coincidence.   My corn intolerance is worse than the Celiac since I have anaphylaxis even if a food has potassium citrate as an additive.  I can't touch a cola or anything else with caramel color with a ten-foot pole.


Being intolerant to corn does not make caramel coloring have gluten in it.
  • 1

"Children in a family are like flowers in a bouquet: there's always one determined to face in an opposite direction from the way the arranger desires."
~Marcelene Cox

 

 
"Earth laughs in flowers."
~Ralph Waldo Emerson
 
flower-3-smiley-emoticon-emoji.png
 

 




 

 
 

 


#20

 
Finally@45

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 100 posts
 

Posted 07 March 2013 - 09:58 AM

For the people who are having similar symptoms from corn as wheat/barley/rye gluten, there appears to be no coincidence.  While the chemical make up of each grain differs, our bodies' responses do not.  Thus, we insist that a connection must be made and/or there needs to be more categories to the condition.  I think we've safely concluded on this forum that the range of symptoms for each person is wide, I don't think we really know why.  That's why it's not totally an urban myth that corn is a problem for Celiacs. 

 

I've tried having corn products that are free of cross contamination with wheat/barley/rye gluten and the same problem occurs.  I even tried rinsing popcorn before popping--same nauseating result.  I've had a bad relationship with corn since I was a kid, not sure how much GM corn was around then, but my hunch is that it doesn't matter.  I couldn't eat corn on an empty stomach without a guarantee that I'd puke it up soon after.  Everyone thought I had a weak stomach, go figure.

 

Also, something like teff grain, which has no risk of cross contamination like oatmeal and corn do, would ideally never cause problems.  I've gotten sick from that.  As someone suggested in my post on going grain free, the difference may lie in the amount of time a person has been unintentionally exposed to the problem foods. 


  • 0

Celiac & Mastocytosis

Follows a diet similar to the Paleo diet, minus high-histamine items such as

avocadoes, mangoes, papaya, berries, pork, farm-raised fish, spinach, and seeds.

No eggs or red meat either.

 


#21

 
kareng

    Vote Moose!

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15,105 posts
 

Posted 07 March 2013 - 10:43 AM

For the people who are having similar symptoms from corn as wheat/barley/rye gluten, there appears to be no coincidence.  While the chemical make up of each grain differs, our bodies' responses do not.  Thus, we insist that a connection must be made and/or there needs to be more categories to the condition.  I think we've safely concluded on this forum that the range of symptoms for each person is wide, I don't think we really know why.  That's why it's not totally an urban myth that corn is a problem for Celiacs. 

 

I've tried having corn products that are free of cross contamination with wheat/barley/rye gluten and the same problem occurs.  I even tried rinsing popcorn before popping--same nauseating result.  I've had a bad relationship with corn since I was a kid, not sure how much GM corn was around then, but my hunch is that it doesn't matter.  I couldn't eat corn on an empty stomach without a guarantee that I'd puke it up soon after.  Everyone thought I had a weak stomach, go figure.

 

Also, something like teff grain, which has no risk of cross contamination like oatmeal and corn do, would ideally never cause problems.  I've gotten sick from that.  As someone suggested in my post on going grain free, the difference may lie in the amount of time a person has been unintentionally exposed to the problem foods. 

 

 

That stilldoes not mean that carmel coloring  contains gluten. (which is what we were discussing).


  • 0

"Children in a family are like flowers in a bouquet: there's always one determined to face in an opposite direction from the way the arranger desires."
~Marcelene Cox

 

 
"Earth laughs in flowers."
~Ralph Waldo Emerson
 
flower-3-smiley-emoticon-emoji.png
 

 




 

 
 

 


#22

 
slukk

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
 

Posted 14 April 2015 - 08:24 AM

Caramel color is one of those celiac urban myths that just won't go away.

Here is Shelley Case's take on it, from Gluten-Free Diet A Comprehensive Resource Guide:
[Emphasis in original]

As a person very sensitive to gluten, I have to say that I think this isn't true. I have had a gluten reaction to many coca cola and pepsi products that contain either caramel color or natural flavors, but I can have regular gluten free caramels. So far, I have only found that I can have Sierra Mist Natural, 1919 root beer, Blue Sky flavors, and Hanks root beer.


  • 0

#23

 
Gemini

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,370 posts
 

Posted 14 April 2015 - 09:52 AM

Caramel color is gluten free.  If you choose to believe it is not, you are free to do so but it does not mean you are correct.  I am not implying you are not reacting to these products but soda is so bad for you anyway, I think worrying about caramel color is a moot point.  No one should be drinking soda in their diet if they want to be healthy.

It is incredibly bad for bone health and that is a top concern for many Celiac's. 

 

This is an older topic but 2 years later, caramel color is still gluten free!  :)

 

 

http://www.glutenfre.../caramel-color/


  • 0

#24

 
kareng

    Vote Moose!

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15,105 posts
 

Posted 14 April 2015 - 10:08 AM

but I can have regular gluten free caramels. .


I agree with Gemini. And caramel candy is not the same thing as a caramel colored artificial coloring. :)
  • 0

"Children in a family are like flowers in a bouquet: there's always one determined to face in an opposite direction from the way the arranger desires."
~Marcelene Cox

 

 
"Earth laughs in flowers."
~Ralph Waldo Emerson
 
flower-3-smiley-emoticon-emoji.png
 

 




 

 
 

 


#25

 
slukk

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
 

Posted 14 April 2015 - 10:45 AM

Caramel color is gluten free.  If you choose to believe it is not, you are free to do so but it does not mean you are correct.  I am not implying you are not reacting to these products but soda is so bad for you anyway, I think worrying about caramel color is a moot point.  No one should be drinking soda in their diet if they want to be healthy.

It is incredibly bad for bone health and that is a top concern for many Celiac's. 

 

This is an older topic but 2 years later, caramel color is still gluten free!  :)

 

 

http://www.glutenfre.../caramel-color/

I just know from experience that it is a gluten reaction. Whether it is from the natural flavors, caramel coloring, and/or cross contamination, I don't know. All I know is that I have tried multiple pops and have had a gluten reaction to the ones containing natural flavors and caramel color. After being g.f for 5-6 years, I rarely take any company at its word that the product is gluten free unless they say it is certified or actually have it listed as gluten free on the package.


  • 0

#26

 
bartfull

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,928 posts
 

Posted 14 April 2015 - 12:09 PM

BUT! There are several supersensitives here on this forum and not one of them has ever claimed to have a gluten reaction to Coke or Pepsi. That indicates that whatever you are reacting to gives you a reaction that is SIMILAR to a glutening, but it is not a true glutening.


  • 1

gluten-free since June, 2011

It took 3 !/2 years but my intolerances to corn, soy, and everything else (except gluten) are gone!

Life is good!

 

 


#27

 
Lisa

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,844 posts
 

Posted 18 April 2015 - 05:50 PM

Coke is FULL of chemicals, non of which contain gluten.  Perhaps it's a chemical reaction that is bothering you.

 

http://productnutrit...olacompany.com/


  • 0
Lisa

Gluten Free - August 15, 2004

"Not all who wander are lost" - JRR Tolkien





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: